Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections Usage Policies

General Rules Governing Use of Materials in Special Collections

The books and manuscripts in Special Collections are available for research use and are subject to the following rules:

  • Archival material from these collections does not circulate and must be viewed in the Reading Room.
  • Researchers must sign the register daily and present valid photo-identification.
  • Researchers are permitted to use one book at a time. Exceptions may be made by staff on duty if appropriate. (Examples: researchers using multi-volume sets or working on textual comparisons).
  • All inquiries concerning photocopying must be referred to a librarian.
  • Special Collections materials must be handled with great care. USE PENCIL ONLY. Do not make any marks on the materials, and do not open uncut pages.
  • Keep Special Collections materials on reading room table surfaces at all times, unless provided special supports for the materials by the desk attendant.
  • No books, papers, or other objects may be laid on Special Collections materials.
  • When using manuscripts material, do not disturb the arrangement of papers or folders.
  • When you have finished using material, please return it to the desk and wait until the material has been checked in.
  • It is possible to place material on "Hold" if you plan to make repeated use of the material within the week. Please inform the desk attendant whether you will be using the material again during the next week.  

Reproducing and Photographing Special Collections Materials

  • Applications to reproduce Special Collections materials must be submitted for approval by the Special Collections librarian.
  • All requests for photography must be approved by a Special Collections librarian.
  • Approved photography is allowed by appointment ONLY. Please call (270) 809-4295 to make an appointment.
  • Permission to reproduce or to photograph does not imply permission to publish.

Rules Governing Use of Manuscripts

The manuscript collections of Murray State University are available for research use by students, faculty, and visiting scholars. All manuscript users must complete a registration application form, provide valid photo-identification (institutional ID, driver's license), and sign the register daily. Special permission may be required for access to restricted collections. All material must be used in the Special Collections reading room, in accordance with the general Special Collections Regulations. Murray State University reserves the right to limit the amount of material issued to a researcher at any one time.

Locating Manuscripts

Researchers can locate manuscripts through a variety of finding aids including manuscript accession sheets, separate indexes, calendars, and inventories to individual collections. Selected collections have also been cataloged into Search, the Murray State University online catalog. Researchers should consult a Special Collections librarian for assistance in locating manuscripts.

Photocopying Manuscripts

Murray State University will permit a reasonable amount of photocopying from its manuscript holdings, but reserves the right to restrict copying from any of its collections and to deny requests for copies. Photocopies are for reference use only and may not be transferred to any other person or institution without specific permission of the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives. A librarian must approve all photocopy requests, which may be submitted on an application to reproduce Special Collections materials.

Permission to Publish Manuscripts

Permission to consult or reproduce manuscripts does not constitute authorization to publish them. Permission to publish manuscript materials in the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives must be obtained in writing from a Special Collections librarian. The letter of application should specify the materials to be reproduced and the publication in which they will be used. Permission is granted insofar as the University is the owner of property rights and does not include literary rights, which must be obtained by the researcher or publisher from the author, or the author's heirs, estate, or literary executor.

Other Rules May Apply

Fee Schedule

Photographic Material Rights and Reproductions Fee Schedule where there is no Intent for Publishing or Display

$10 research and service fee for all research requests not received in person at Pogue Library, such as via correspondence, e-mail, phone, etc.  Add postage fees for packages over the standard United States Postal Service flat rate envelope or special requests such as rushed or overnight delivery, etc.

Photocopying

.25 cents per page or image (letter or legal size)

Scanning Documents and Photographs  

1 – 10 scans per request: $1.00 per scan

11 or 25 scans per request: $2.00 per scan

25 or more scans per project: Negotiated

Documents that have already been scanned – No Charge

Photographic Material Rights and Reproductions Fee Schedule For Publications/Commercial Purposes

Pogue Special Collections and Archives (Pogue Library) will provide digital reproductions of photographic materials in the collection for which copyright can be confirmed. If Pogue Library does not hold the copyright to the item, then permission of use must be obtained by the copyright holder. Proof of this permission must be presented before a copy will be created. Restrictions may also be applied due to the fragility of the item.

Orders are not processed until payment has been received. Credit card payment will not be permitted. All prices are per digital file. Only material that will not be physically damaged by the process of duplication will be copied. Pogue Library reserves the right to withhold permission for the reproduction of any material. Any organization using the nonprofit rate must provide non-profit identification number with their completed Collection Reproduction form.

Students, faculty and staff of Murray State may apply to use images at no charge, but copyright and condition restrictions still apply.

Use of images that fall under fair use must still receive permission and use the credit line below.

All images must include the credit line: Pogue Library Special Collections and Archives, Murray State University.

Publications (Book, journal, film, television, article, etc)

Use Type and Description

Commercial Fee

Nonprofit Fee*

Circulation/print run, less than 1,000

$20

$10

Circulation/print run, less than 10,000

$40

$30

Circulation/print run, 10,000 or more

$60

$50

Video, film

$80/per minute of film

$50/per minute of film

Website

$60

$50

Advertisement (digital or print)

$80

$50

Display use (exhibit, décor, personal)

Use Type and Description

Commercial Fee

Nonprofit fee*

Personal Fee

Museum Exhibit

$60

$40

N/A

Décor: Home

N/A

N/A

$10

Décor: Private office

$25

$15

N/A

Décor: Public area

$60

$50

N/A

* To receive nonprofit rate, organization must be able to demonstrate not-for-profit status and submit a non-profit 501(c)3 number.

Subsequent publication or other use of image is charged at one-half the original fee but should be verified and granted permission beforehand.

Building Photography

Pogue Library's primary role is to serve students, faculty, and the community in their research needs. We understand that our facility is beautiful both inside and out, and makes a great backdrop for special occasion photos. We ask that if you are interested in scheduling photos to be taken in Pogue that you comply with the following:

  • All photos inside the facility must be taken during Pogue's normal working hours (8:00 am - 4:00 pm M-F). 
  • Let us know in advance. We can post signs indicating your plans for a particular area so other visitors know not to use that space.
  • Research is our first priority. We will do what we can to help without interrupting our daily tasks.
  • Please refrain from photographing copyrighted images (portraits, signage) or Murray State emblems (the shield, for example).
  • Due to the gift agreement, photography in the Pogue War & Diplomacy Room is strictly prohibited.

Circulation Policies

General collection books in Pogue are available for circulation. All Waterfield circulation policies, including length of checkout period, apply to Pogue’s book collection. Collections located in Pogue’s Reading and Genealogy Rooms are the only ones eligible for checkout. Pogue staff reserve the right to withhold any book from circulation based on condition/quality of the item. Laptops are available for checkout by Murray State students, faculty, and staff for in-library use only.

Items that may not be borrowed:

  • Rare Books
  • War and Diplomacy Collection
  • Jesse Stuart Book Collection
  • Media including oral histories, microfilm, VHS, DVDs, CDs
  • Reference Books (Lobby)
  • Manuscript Collection
  • University Records
  • Periodicals