Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RG026-13-15 Publications and Printing Office Photograph Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Publications and Printing Office Photograph Collection

Collection Title: Photograph Collection

Series Number: RG026-13-15

Department: Publications and Printing Office

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Joshua Rice from January to May 2013

Date Listed: May 10, 2013

Date Span: ca. 1960s-1990s

Size of Collection: 3.5 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 7 letter size document cases

Type of Material: Photographs

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject represented on photograph; chronological arrangement

Historical Information: The Publications and Printing Office was first established as the Printing Service Office in 1945. In 1963, the office was retitled the Duplicating Service Office and by the late 1960s it was again called the Printing Service Office. By the turn of the century the department received its current title. The photographs within this collection were located in file cabinets housed in the Publications & Printing Office and later transferred to the University Archives in 2012.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographic prints of events, buildings, campus scenes, students, staff and faculty of Murray State University from the 1960s to the 1990s. The bulk of the collection was unidentified when found but were organized by the subject presented on the photograph. Subjects include campus buildings, departmental activities, athletic teams, prominent athletes, Greek life, group photos of students and miscellaneous pictures taken on campus.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Publications & Printing Office. Murray State University.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Pictorial works.