Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RG014-13-23 Music Department - Paul W. Shahan Recordings: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Music Department - Paul W. Shahan Recordings

Collection Title: Paul W. Shahan Recordings

Series Number: RG014-13-23

Department: Music Department

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in August 2013

Date Listed: August 28, 2013

Date Span: ca. 1960-1980

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 1 legal document cases

Type of Material: Reel-to-reel audio tapes, cassette tapes, microfilm and musical scores

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; chronological arrangement

Historical Information: Paul W. Shahan was composer, band director, Professor of Music and Dean of the College of Fine Arts at Murray State University beginning in 1957. He was born at Grafton, West Virginia on January 2, 1923. He received degrees from Fairmont State College, West Virginia University and George Peabody College. Before he was employed at Murray State, he taught music at public schools in Taylor County, West Virginia and attended the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York. He directed the University’s Symphonic Band, Pep Band and Marching Thoroughbred Band. He served as the chairman of the Kentucky Division of the College Band Directors National Association for three terms and published numerous articles and scores. He composed the music for The Stubblefield Story and the inaugural music for three Murray State presidents. He twice received the Thor Johnson Award for outstanding composition. He was the first American composer to receive the award in 1952. Shahan wrote over sixty compositions before his death on February 2, 1997.

Scope and Content: The collection consists of reel-to-reel and cassette recordings composed by Paul W. Shahan of Murray State University from the 1960s to the 1980s. The recordings contain the 1963 and 1976 performance of The Stubblefield Story, the 1976 performance of Beat the Drums Proudly and several other compositions performed by the University’s Symphonic Band and other bands. Included with the recordings are microfilmed scores and music published by Shahan.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Shahan, Paul W., 1923-1997.

Murray State University – Music Department.

Composers – Kentucky – Murray.