Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Small Business Guide

Kentucky Industry Info

For those of you interested in historical information, the MSU Library houses the city and county economic profiles, and the Kentucky Deskbook --all originally in print -- from around 1975-2005.  The profiles found at ThinkKentucky are current only.

Statistical Sources

Data.gov = Best single location for most government statistics; aggregates at the location level, not the spreadsheet level, in most cases.  Try first.  Then use the targets below to locate data.

Bizstats.com = Get instant access to useful financial ratios, business statistics & benchmarks, effective and understandable online analysis of businesses & industries.

Secondary Data = a portal for business; provides links to free online data sites, broken down into categories.

Agricultural Chemicals

1992, 1997 and 2002 = Census of Agriculture, searchable by state or topic. Search chemical usage under “environmental”

Banking and financial surveys, by country

1961- present = IMF Statistical Yearbook series; in print, Waterfield reference collection

Current = IMF country information

Current = WorldBank; choose Data & Research, then search by country or topic

1970-present = IMF World Economic Outlook Database (GDP)

Current = FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data at the St. Louis Fed;  current banking rates, prime rate, bank assets and other economic indicators.

From 1876 (varies by type of data) = FRASER, Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research; provides historical economic statistical publications, releases and documents; use the sidebar to search individual topics or publications. International financial statistics included under Banking and Monetary, 1914-1941 (PDF by bank name).

Federal Reserve A-Z list of topics = can’t find it at the Fed? Check here by type of data.

Company & Industry -- Financials & Ratios

See Financials and Ratios tab at the top of this page.

Construction

Economic Census; reports available by state or sector; historic tables available from sidebar, including Construction .

1940-present = Housing topics of all sorts from Census

Housing Unit Projections (Estimates), USA

Residential and Commercial Building Characteristics, energy consumption needs, including square footage

Consumer Confidence

Conference Board site (current free)

S&P Industry Surveys (in print at Waterfield Library) – CCI is often included in the narrative analysis

Consumer Prices, by commodity

30 years generally, by month, by commodity = Consumer Price Index, scroll down to Create Customized Tables, Average Price Data, and follow database requests.

Crop Prices, Rankings, Production, by state/county

Current 3-5 years = USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information – choose “Field Crops” section, or search the site for specific crop, 3-5 years generally, by state.

1936 – present = USDA’s Agricultural Statistics yearbook, in print, Waterfield government documents collection.

1989-current = Trade Stats Express – US import/export information by state. State Export Data, then specific database for trade to other countries or states, by product.

1992, 1997 and 2002 = Census of Agriculture, searchable by state or topic. Search by commodity under “crops and plants”.

Crop, Agricultural Statistics, for other countries

About 30 years = UN Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO), by country section. Choose country from sidebar; all sidebar and internal documents change to that country only.

1989-current = Trade Stats Express – US import/export information by country. Choose National Trade Data, then “ Product Profiles of U.S. Merchandise Trade with a Selected Market” and follow database requests to locate lists of merchandise imported, by country.

Country Profiles, quick statistical

          GlobalEdge, from Michigan State University, aggregates country information.

International Data, from US Census Bureau, includes major demographics, labor force, migration, vital statistics, etc. with projections to 2025.

UNData -- aggredated search for all UN databases, includes a country search

OffStats -- provides links to official national databases, by country

Currency Valuation & Historical Exchange Rates, by country

1950-2000 = Penn World Table, population, currency, GDP valuations by country.

1961- present = IMF Statistical Yearbook series; in print, Waterfield reference collection

1995-present = IMF Exchange rate archive

Drivers’ Licenses Issued, USA

1992- current = Highway Statistics from Department of Transportation. Includes fuel, vehicle type information, licenses issued, etc.

Energy Costs, Consumption, Production

1978- current = Energy Information Agency, data by energy type –including petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable fuels. Prices, production, trade stats. International in scope.

TranStats; portal to statistics by subject including freight, passenger, energy, etc.

1992- current = Highway Statistics from Department of Transportation. Includes fuel, vehicle type information, licenses issued, etc.

Exports, for USA, to other countries – by commodity

1989-current = Trade Stats Express – US import/export information by country. Choose National Trade Data, then “ Product Profiles of U.S. Merchandise Trade with a Selected Market” and follow database requests to locate lists of merchandise by country.

Farm Land Size, Value & Land Prices

Current 3-5 years = USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information – choose “Land, Water and Conservation” section, or search the site for specifics, 3-5 years generally, by state.

1936 – present = USDA’s Agricultural Statistics yearbook, in print, Waterfield government documents collection.

1992, 1997 and 2002 = Census of Agriculture, searchable by state or topic. Land values under “economics”.

Food Consumption and Expenditure, by type

1970-current = Food Consumption data under “Food” section of USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information.

1876-current = Food expenditure tables at Economic Research Service of USDA.

Freight Data

TranStats; portal to statistics by subject including freight, passenger, energy, etc.

Economic Census; reports available by state or sector; historic tables available from sidebar, including Transportation and Warehousing .

Fuels of all kind

1992- current = Highway Statistics from Department of Transportation. Includes fuel, vehicle type information, licenses issued, etc.

1978-current = Energy Information Agency, data by energy type –including petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable fuels. Prices, production, trade stats.

1970-current = fuel use, including MPG, from Department of Transportation

Fuel Economy Site (EPA)
"Find and Compare Cars" database, with miles-per-gallon numbers for vehicles from 1985 to the present; gasoline prices, etc.

GDP by country

1950-2000 = Penn World Table, population, currency, GDP valuations by country.

1961- present = IMF Statistical Yearbook series; in print, Waterfield reference collection

1970-present = IMF World Economic Outlook Database

1976-present = US GDP database, at the Bureau of Economic Analysis

1947-current = US GDP by industry (NAICS and SIC)Gasoline, Prices, Use, MPG

Government Finances, by country

1961- present = IMF Statistical Yearbook series; in print, Waterfield reference collection

Current three years = Europa World YearBook, in print, Waterfield reference collection. Statistical Survey follows narrative on each country, includes national finance section.

1950-2000 = Penn World Table, population, currency, GDP valuations by country.

Euro-Stat, statistical site for the European Union; not easy to use. Choose Data tab to locate databases by topic.

Highway Statistics, Mileage, Surface, Funding, etc

1992- current = Highway Statistics annual reports from Department of Transportation. Includes fuel, vehicle type information, licenses issued, and highway-specific information.

TranStats; portal to statistics by type of transportation mode – aviation, maritime, highway, transit, rail, pipeline, bike/pedestrian.

Imports, for USA, from other countries – by commodity

1989-current = Trade Stats Express – US import/export information by country. Choose National Trade Data, then “ Product Profiles of U.S. Merchandise Trade with a Selected Market” and follow database requests to locate lists of merchandise by country.

Income, Personal and National

1929-present = Annual State Personal Income, from Bureau of Economic Analysis. Historical tables by industry, as well.

1976-present = National income, by type, from Bureau of Economic Analysis

Industry data by NAICS

Economic Census – Geographic Area Studies (NAICS sectors listed below map)

Industry Financials & Ratios

         See the Financials & Ratios Tab at the top of this page.

Interest Rates

St. Louis Fed – FRED system, interest rates section

Kentucky County Profiles

Economic Development Information Service

Census: State and County Quick Facts

Censtats: Business patterns by county, zip code, metro area

Economic Census; reports available by state or sector; historic tables available from sidebar.

State Data Center; aggregates everything for the state

 

Mineral Production, Costs

Up to 10 years = Minerals information from United States Geologic Survey; international in scope; by commodity, country, state, subject.

Economic Census; reports available by state or sector; historic tables available from sidebar, including Mining.

Population, Projections and Estimates

Population estimates home page, USA

Historic Population Estimates tables, USA

International Data, from US Census Bureau, includes major demographics, labor force, migration, vital statistics, etc. with projections to 2025.

UN World Population Trends

Population Demographics, by state

Agricultural demographics, by state

State Population Projections

State and County Quick Facts

Historic population and housing censuses, including State Trends 1900-2000

Population Demographics, by country

International Data, from US Census Bureau, includes major demographics, labor force, migration, vital statistics, etc. with projections to 2025.

UN World Population Trends

UN Statistics Division, Demographic Yearbook (gender, age, etc)

UN Statistics Division, Social Indicators (education, health, housing, sanitation, etc)

Euro-Stat, statistical site for the European Union; not easy to use. Choose Data tab to locate databases by topic.

UNData -- aggredated search for all UN databases

Production – Amounts & Prices

1977-present generally = Producer Price Indexes; scroll down to Create Customized Tables, by industry or commodity. Commodity by harmonized code, and industries by NAICS or SIC.

Multiple years = USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information , search “production” in search window for list of datasets by crop; or Census of Agriculture for datasets 1987-present by state.

Energy Information Agency, data by energy type –including petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable fuels. Prices, production, trade stats. International in scope.

Up to 10 years = Minerals information from United States Geologic Survey; international in scope; by commodity, country, state, subject.

Savings, personal etc.

St. Louis Fed – FRED system, savings section

SWOT Analyses, by company

See SWOT tab at the top of this page.

Trade Statistics, by country

Economic Census; reports available by state or sector; historic tables available from sidebar, including Wholesale and Retail Trade .

1980 – present = World Trade Organization, Statistics Database. Choose Time Series and follow database requests to see 25 years of trade information by commodity, region or indices. Choose Trade Profiles to retrieve full profile by country.

Energy Information Agency, data by energy type –including petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable fuels. Prices, production, trade stats. International in scope.

Euro-Stat, statistical site for the European Union; not easy to use. Choose Data tab to locate databases by topic.

UNData -- aggregated search for all UN databases

Transportation Statistics, by type

TranStats; portal to statistics by type of transportation mode – aviation, maritime, highway, transit, rail, pipeline, bike/pedestrian.

Economic Census; reports available by state or sector; historic tables available from sidebar, including Transportation and Warehousing .

Vehicle Registrations, by type

1992- current = Highway Statistics from Department of Transportation. Includes fuel, vehicle type information, licenses issued, etc.