Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Public Relations

Resources to help public relations students with research.

Companies and Investments

Free Websites

Securities and Exchange Commission
The next place to look are in any filings the company has to make with the proper regulators. In the United States that is the Securities & Exchange Commission. Publicly held companies must file their 10Ks (annual reports - 10KSB for Small Business Public Companies) and 10Qs (quarterly reports) etc. with the SEC. Pay particular attention to Item 1 - the business description, Item 7 the Management Discussion and Analysis, and the Financial Footnotes.

Yahoo! Finance
At Yahoo Finance, you get free stock quotes, up-to-date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, social interaction and mortgage rates.

Bloomberg Businessweek
Bloomberg delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world, featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News. 

Brand Information

Global Brand Database
Search brand information (trademarks, appellations of origin and official emblems) from multiple national and international sources, including marks registered through WIPO’s Madrid System.

Company Misconduct

Violation Tracker
Violation Tracker is the first national search engine on corporate misconduct. It covers banking, consumer protection, false claims, environmental, wage & hour, unfair labor practice, health, safety, employment discrimination, price-fixing, bribery and other cases initiated by 43 federal regulatory agencies and the Justice Department since 2000; in all, 300,000 cases with total penalties of more than $394 billion. Other types of violations will be added later. Violation Tracker is produced by the Corporate Research Project of Good Jobs First.

Guide to using Violation Tracker

Company Directories/Company Financial

EDGAR Database of Corporate Information 
Official Securities and Exchange Commission website. Financial filings from public companies. 

Kompass - International Directories
Worldwide search by company name or product. Basic directory information on 1.6 million companies is free; enhanced reports can be bought. 

Manta.com
Online directory of 60 million small businesses. 

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers Online
Searching is by company or product. Directory information plus links to online catalogs are supplied. More than 72,000 product headings and over 170,000 companies listed. 

Researching nonprofits

990 Finder  
The Foundation Center's 990 finder allows you to search for an organization's IRS return.

BBB Wise Giving Alliance  
The charity reviewing component of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) it grades charities based on their spending and accountability, and accepts and mediates consumer complaints.

Charity Navigator  
Evaluates charities in order to foster "intelligent giving."

Chronicle of Philanthropy  
This biweekly newspaper has special reports and facts and figures on giving.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Provides detailed information on nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Entries typically include the organization's contact information, and when available, founding date, purpose, activities and dues; national and international conferences; and more.

Giving USA  
Looks at trends in philanthropy and giving.

Guidestar  
Some reports are free, with more available if you sign up for an account.

How America Gives (interactive map)
Explore American charitable giving throughout the country using this interactive tool. With it, you can see giving by state, major metropolitan area, county, and ZIP code in 2012, including breakdowns by income bracket.