Provides access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, letters, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, IEEE Standards and IEEE educational courses. Full-text from 2005-present.
A full-text scientific database offering articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 10,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
Access to multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 research journals. Includes access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Most content from 1900-present, although specific databases include earlier information.
Database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information of the mathematical sciences literature. Most of them are classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Created by the American Mathematical Society. Coverage from 1960-present.
Relativity by Albert Einstein"The present book is intended, as far as possible, to give an exact insight into the theory of relativity to those readers who, from a general scientific and philosophical point of view, are interested in the theory, but who are not conversant with the mathematical apparatus of theoretical physics. The text is divided into three parts which deal respectively with the special theory of relativity, with the general theory of relativity, and with considerations on the universe as a whole. The special theory deals with the physics of elementary particles while the general theory is concerned with the force of gravity and its effect on the other forces of nature. These two theories, while exceptional in their explanations of their particular focus, are inconsistent with each other, and it has long been an aim of the science of physics to help resolve these inconsistencies. Einstein proposed that, rather than discarding these two principles for being conflicting, the rules of time and space should be completely revamped and rethought in order to find a way to make these two principles work in harmony. It is Einstein's work on relativity which would earn him the 1921 Nobel Prize in Physics and establish his legacy as one of the most famous scientists of all time. This edition is translated by Robert W. Lawson and is printed on premium acid-free paper."
Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering by K. F. Riley; M. P. Hobson; S. J. BenceThe third edition of this highly acclaimed undergraduate textbook is suitable for teaching all the mathematics for an undergraduate course in any of the physical sciences. As well as lucid descriptions of all the topics and many worked examples, it contains over 800 exercises. New stand-alone chapters give a systematic account of the 'special functions' of physical science, cover an extended range of practical applications of complex variables, and give an introduction to quantum operators. Further tabulations, of relevance in statistics and numerical integration, have been added. In this edition, half of the exercises are provided with hints and answers and, in a separate manual available to both students and their teachers, complete worked solutions. The remaining exercises have no hints, answers or worked solutions and can be used for unaided homework; full solutions are available to instructors on a password-protected web site, www.cambridge.org/9780521679718.
Call Number: QA300 R55 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
The Feynman Lectures on Physics by Richard P. Feynman; Robert B. Leighton; Matthew L. Sands"The whole thing was basically an experiment," Richard Feynman said late in his career, looking back on the origins of his lectures. The experiment turned out to be hugely successful, spawning publications that have remained definitive and introductory to physics for decades. Ranging from the basic principles of Newtonian physics through such formidable theories as general relativity and quantum mechanics, Feynman's lectures stand as a monument of clear exposition and deep insight. Timeless and collectible, the lectures are essential reading, not just for students of physics but for anyone seeking an introduction to the field from the inimitable Feynman.