Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scholarly Communication: Lana Porter Open Access Initiatives Award

This guide is designed to help faculty learn more about their authors' rights and scholarly communication options.


This award recognizes Murray State faculty members or staff who have made significant contributions to scholarship through open access formats.  This should include, but is not limited to, establishing a pattern of open access publishing, publications that allow for archiving in our institutional repository, or open access works which have experienced high demonstrable impact.  This award seeks to recognize a commitment to open access and assist in archiving and promoting the scholarship of Murray State faculty, staff, and students.

This award was established by a generous gift of Lana Porter, a Murray State alumnus who is a strong supporter of our faculty, staff, and students, and who sought to give back in the area of technology and with the Libraries.


Nominations (including self-nominations) shall be submitted to the University’s Open Access Committee by October 7, 2022 in the form of the completed questionnaire found on the next page.  Recipients are chosen by the committee, with selection based on the nominee’s demonstrated commitment to open access publishing and achievements related to the associated scholarship.

Recipients will receive a stipend of $500-$1000 (depending on the endowment’s market performance) for the next academic year. This award stipend may be used for research materials, conferences, travel, or other projects or items that meet with prior approval from the Dean of University Libraries.  To access these funds, it is preferred that you make purchases or encumber expenses from regular department accounts, and the reimbursement will be made from the endowment foundation fund.  We will work with the Office of Development and Institutional Advancement to publicize this recognition.

Your name will be inscribed on a plaque in the University Libraries Dean’s Office Conference Room.  Awardees will be invited to serve on the voting committee for the following two years.

Criteria for Evaluation

The criteria by which applications for an Open Access Award will be evaluated are as follows:

  • The open work was created during the same period of time in which the applicant was affiliated as a full-time faculty/staff member, or student, of Murray State University,

  • The significance of the work to the research and professional development of the applicant,

  • The ability to provide evidence of commitment to open access or open education,

  • Applications and supporting documents must be completed in full.

Award Committee 2022

Chair: AJ Boston, University Libraries

Dean Cris Ferguson, University Libraries

Jeffrey Henry, University Libraries

James Humphreys, History

Christopher Lennon, Biological Sciences

Robert Pervine, Associate Provost

Candace Vance, University Libraries

Megan Wilson, University Libraries

Gary ZeRuth, Biological Sciences


2022 - TBD

2021 - Dr. Ismail Karabas, Management, Marketing and Business Administration; Dr. Christopher Lennon, Biological Sciences; Dr. James Humphreys & Dr. William Mulligan, History (TIE)

2020 - Dr. Gary ZeRuth, Biological Sciences

2019 - Dr. Kate S. He, Biological Sciences

2018 - Dr. Azaher Molla, Applied Health Sciences & Dr. Sean Rife, Psychology (TIE)


Scholarly Communication Librarian

Profile Photo
Arthur Boston
214 Waterfield Library