Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

International Trade

Trade websites

Agricultural Market Access Database (AMAD).
Cooperative effort from the FAO, World Bank, EU, OECD and other international organizations. Registration required.

CEPII - BACI.  
World trade database developed by the CEPII at a high level of product disaggregation.  Original data are provided from the COMTRADE database.Provides bilateral values and quantities of exports at the HS 6-digit product disaggregation, for more than 200 countries since 1995. Users have to testify that their organization (UC Berkeley does) has a UN Comtrade subscription.

Center for International Data (UC Davis).
Includes U.S. Import and export data from 1974 to 2001, US Tarriff datam NBER-United Nations Trade Data, 1962-2000 and other variables. Files are in zip format and require data documentation.

Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE).  
Detailed commodity trade data between countries from 1962. This is the world's largest depository of international trade data containing over 1.7 billion data records for 45 years. All commodity values are converted from national currency into US dollars.  

Direction of Trade Statistics.
From the IMF. Annual, quarterly, and monthly data on the value of exports and imports by trade partners for 250 countries, as well as area and world aggregates, from 1980 to present. 

EU External Trade Data.
Commodity trade data from the European Union. Tracks the value and quantity of goods traded between EU Member States (intra-EU trade) and between Member States and non-EU countries (extra-EU trade).

Foreign Trade Statistics.
Monthly statistical reports, imports and exports by country, trade balances, commodity trade.  Also contains historical data back to 1991, from the U.S. Census Bureau.

International Trade and Market Access Data. 
Detailed international merchandise trade data (automobiles, chemicals, machinery) by country of manufacture and destination.  Also has tariff information.  

ITIP Services.  
Linked databases that provide information on member commitments under the WTO's General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS), services commitments in regional trade agreements (RTA).  See the statistics section for Trade in Services.

OECDiLibrary.
Statistics section includes access to monthly statistics of international trade aggregates and detailed international trade statistics by commodity.

Services Trade Restrictions Database.  
World Bank database that provides comparable information on services trade policy measures for 103 countries, 18 service sectors (covering telecommunications, finance, transportation, retail and professional services) and key modes of service supply.

UNCTADStat
From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. 

United Nations Service Trade.  
Resident to non-resident trade in services broken down by EBOPS category and partner country annually.  Free registration is required.

WTO Trade Statistics. Interactive database with data on the following:

World Integrated Trade Solutions (WITS).
Statistics on trade in merchandise and commercial services at the world and regional level. Register for use with your Berkeley email address. 

Quick Links to Other Guides