Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finance

This research guide is designed to help finance students with research.

Websites

FDIC Statistics on Depository Institutions (Aggregate Call Report Data)
Includes: Pre-populated industry peer group data by asset size, charter and activities.

FDIC Community Bank Study
Includes: Community banking aggregate data from 1987-2017, community banking merger and acquisition data.

FFIEC Uniform Bank Performance Reports (UBPR):
Includes: Summary ratios by peer group.

FFIEC Central Data Repository (Raw Call Report Data)
Includes: Call Report data (both current and historical) by institution.

FFIEC Reporting Forms and Call Report Instructions
Includes: Instructions as to how to interpret 041, 031 & 051 Call Report fields.

Federal Reserve National Information Center (NIC)
Includes: Data on bank holding companies.

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Economic Research
Includes: Relevant economic research regarding community banks.

FRED Economic Data (St. Louis FRB Data Tool)
Includes: Aggregate survey level industry data sets.

FRB/CSBS Research Conference Website
Includes: Relevant academic research regarding community banks.

US Economic Conditions/Forecasting

FRB: Beige Book 
The Beige Book is a summary of information on current economic conditions from each reserve bank. Information includes anecdotal evidence from each district's business contacts and is collected eight times a year.

Survey of Professional Forecasters 
The Survey of Professional Forecasters is the oldest quarterly survey of macroeconomic forecasts in the United States. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia oversees it.

Livingston Survey 
The Livingston Survey was started in 1946 by the late columnist Joseph Livingston. It is the oldest continuous survey of economists' expectations. It summarizes the forecasts of economists from industry, government, banking, and academia. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia oversees the survey.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Download, graph, and track 61,000 US and international time series from 48 sources. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.).