Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics

Information sources in economics

Historical Data

The Library has access to the KY Resources for Economic Development government documents (1960s to 1990s) created by the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development Division of Research. The series contains includes county profiles, labor market statistics, and information on existing industries, transportation, utilities, climate, local government, education, other local facilities, and recreation for all KY counties. The series is incomplete by year and only available in hard copy in the Reference section of the library. If you need help finding the documents, please contact the Business Librarian, Dana Thompson, at dthompson29@murraystate.edu

Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED)
"Economic data time travel" from the Federal Reserve. Includes data on Money, Banking, & Finance, National Accounts, Population, Employment, & Labor Markets, Production & Business Activity, Prices, and International Data. ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.

EHNet Databases
Wide range of historical data sets from the Economic History Association: global financial data, wages, bond trading, early securities prices, developing country exports, historical labor statistics, and much more.  See the Historical Labor Statistics Project (HLSP).

Fraser
Economic history data from the Federal Reserve with scanned U.S. historical economic statistical publications and other documents. Includes historical runs of the Economic Report of the President, banking and monetary statistics, the Budget of the US Government, Statisics on Income, the Survey of Current Business, employment and payrolls, and much more.

Global Financial Data
Long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries. 

Global Price and Income History Group
Prices, wages, income, and measures of economic well-being for countries and cities around the world before 1950.   Focuses primarily on the middle ages. 

Maddison Project Database
Project by a group of colleagues of Angus Maddison, with the aim to continue Maddison's work on measuring long-term economic performance for different regions, time periods and subtopics. 

National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.

NBER Macroeconomic History Data
Covers all aspects of the pre-WWI and interwar economies, including production, construction, employment, money, prices, foreign trade, and government activity. Many series are at the monthly or quarterly frequency. Some coverage of the United Kingdom, France and Germany, although it predominantly covers the United States.

Social Explorer
220 years of demographic data, 25,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables.