Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Gift and Donation Policies: Give Now!

Office of Development

 
Director of Development - EDU Library Office of Development
200 HH
Murray, KY 42071
(270) 809-3026

Giving

As the Murray State community relies more and more on learning centers, electronic resources, and the most current of academic literature, your donations will be invaluable in helping us to more adequately serve students, faculty and alumni. Questions about giving can be directed to Melanie Brooks in the Development Office.

Give Now!

State Resources for Alumni

The University Libraries used to be able to offer certain databases to alumni, but recently costs have become too high to do so. Thus, we want to make you aware of these databases to which you may have access.

JSTOR
Anyone can register for a free account in JSTOR and have access to 3 articles every 2 weeks from more than 5 million total articles.

Kentucky
Kentucky Virtual Library: Online sources for research. You will need a valid Kentucky public library card; contact your local library for the ID/password combination to access these databases. To find a library near you, consult the Kentucky Public Library Directory. Visit the KYVL website for more information on the databases. Kentucky also offers a statewide Interlibrary Loan system; contact your local public library for details.

Alabama
Alabama Virtual Library: Statewide, free online library of databases. You must obtain an AVL Card from your local library before you can access these databases from home. No online registration is offered. To find the library closest to you, consult the Alabama Public Library Service website.

Florida
Florida Electronic Library: Online research databases accessible remotely via the barcode on your local public library card. To find a library near you, go to the state of Florida's Public Library Homepages site. Each library's web page should tell you how to obtain a library card.

Florida Library Information Network: Statewide cooperative network for Interlibrary Loan and resource sharing. Each library's web page should also include information on their policies for interlibrary loan.

Illinois
Illinois State Library Catalog: Allows you to link to a local, shared catalog record to see if and where an item is available for interlibrary loan. It includes online resources as well as all the online services provided by Illinois State Library. These databases are offered for a period of time each year. Note that you will need an authorization and password from your local library to access these databases; to find a library near you go to the Illinois Secretary of State's Library Systems site.

Indiana
INSPIRE Databases: Collection of databases and indexes, many of them full-text.

Public Library Access Card: Allows you to borrow from any Indiana public library outside of your home library district. Fee is $30 per year. In order to participate in this program, you will need to obtain a PLAC Card. To be eligible for this you will need to obtain a library card from your home library if you have not done so already, then purchase a PLAC Card. To find a library near you, visit the Indiana State Library's directory of public libraries.

Missouri
MOREnet (Missouri Research and Education Network): Online resources and databases available through the public library. To find a library near you, go to visit the Missouri Secretary of State's Missouri Online Library List. Your local library may have an agreement that allows you to check out items from another library, or with a regional library system. 

Tennessee
Tennessee Electronic Library: for remote access, you will need to contact your local library for the password. To find a library near you, go to the Tennessee Secretary of State's Public Library Directory online. TEL contains 18 databases.

Tennessee Public Library Catalog: You can search all public libraries in Tennessee by placing a checkmark in the box next to Tennessee database. If your local library does not have the item(s) you want, you can request it through interlibrary loan, then track the status of the request(s), if your library has set up this capability. If not, contact your library for assistance. If you check the box by Library Consortia, you can search all public libraries as well as University of Tennessee Knoxville. If you check the box by Virtual Libraries, you can search UT-Knoxville and Knox County Library.

Texas
TexShare Card: Allows you to borrow items directly from any participating library in Texas, including all public libraries. If your local library participates in this program, you may obtain a card from them.

TexShare Databases: Many valuable online databases are accessible through the TexShare program. They can be accessed in your local library as well as remotely. For remote access, contact your local library to register and/or obtain a login and password. To find a library near you, go to the Texas State Library's Find A Library website.


If you don't see your state listed, please call Candee Rose call: 270-809-2187 or email: crose@murraystate.edu. 

Dean, University Libraries

                 Ashley Ireland

Contact:
Dean of Libraries
208 Waterfield Library
Murray, KY  42071
(270) 809-5604

Gift Contact

Candee Rose's picture
Candee Rose
Contact:
224 Waterfield Library

Murray, KY 42071

270-809-2187

Gift in Kind Policy

The Murray State University Libraries accept donations of materials that support the teaching and research needs of the University community. For more information, click the link below.