Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Athletic Training

Essential resources for research and study in Athletic Training.

Find Articles - Use the Databases

Databases search thousands of journals, magazines, and/ or newspapers all at once. These are the most useful in the field of Athletic Training, but MSU has many others that may prove helpful on the Database A-Z list!

Alphabetical listing of all databases at the library

If the PDF or HTML link isn't provided under the result, click on the yellow "Find it @ MSU" button in order to:

  • get the article electronically full text via a different database;
  • find the physical copy of the article in the library via library catalog;
  • or, if the above methods aren't available, request it via interlibrary loan.

TIP: Just click on the "i" next to the database name for a detailed description of the resource.

Accessing Online Resources

You will be prompted to login using your myGate credentials when attempting to access University Libraries' online resources.

See below for more info about your myGate credentials.

How to Link to the Full Text Article

Using MeSH Controlled Vocabulary to search MedLine

Search Tips for Better Results

Source: Oregon State

  1. Remember: Databases don’t answer questions like Google. Use keywords, including synonyms.
  2. Skip extraneous words: the, an, and, what, is, etc.
  3. Use quotation marks to identify compound subjects "objective c"
  4. The asterisk * is a truncation tool that allows you to search for multiple versions of the same word in many library databases. Searching comput* will get computer, computers, computing or computation.
  5. Use Boolean Operators to combine search terms. PHP OR Hypertext Preprocessor.
  6. Use Subject searches in library databases to find more relevant articles:
    • programming languages OR computer program language as a SUBJECT
    • visual programming OR visual programming language as a SUBJECT
    • software engineering OR computer programming as a SUBJECT
  7. Limit by date (last 5 years) in library databases and Google.
  8. Be prepared to use Interlibrary Loan to request resources that aren't available full-text online.

Google Scholar Advanced Search