Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Pogue Special Collections & University Archives: Home

Homepage for the Murray State University Special Collections & Archives located at Pogue Library.

Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Please call ahead and make sure we are not closed due to a special event.

Thank you!

 

Closings and Special Occasions

 

August 31st - BOR Meeting (Board of Regents); Limited access throughout the building

September 3rd - Closed for Labor Day

October 4th & 5th - Closed for Fall Break

October 19th - BOR Meeting (Board of Regents); Limited access throughout the building

November 21st thru 23rd - Closed for Thanksgiving

December 7th - BOR Meeting (Board of Regents); Limited access throughout the building

December 15th thru January 1st - Closed for Winter Break

 

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

Office (270)809-6152
(270)809-4295
FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Special Notice

Please Note:

Our newspapers on microfilm have been sent out to be digitized. 

If you are looking for a local paper on microfilm, I would suggest checking

with the Graves County Public Library or the McCracken County Public Library.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you!

Special Collections

The Special Collections Department was established in 1968 to serve the needs of its patrons by acquiring and providing access to information about the cultural history of the Jackson Purchase area of southwestern Kentucky and northwestern Tennessee. Published and printed regional and county histories, manuscript materials, oral histories and other significantly unique items that support the curriculum of Murray State University are acquired and made available for use by students and researchers.

University Archives

The Archives Department at Murray State University was also established in 1968 to act as the repository for the official and unofficial records that document the history of the university. The Archives serves as the institutional memory of the university and as custodian of the university's historic legacy. The primary objective of the Archives is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available university records and related materials of permanent historical value. The Archives also aims to support research, teaching, and public awareness of the rich heritage of Murray State University for students and researchers.

Visitor Parking

Parking Registration:

A Parking Registration is required to park on campus. Registration may be submitted at the Public Safety and Emergency Management Building on the corner of N. 16th Street and Chestnut, or a temporary one day registration is available at the front desk as you sign into Pogue.  You will need to know the license plate number, year, make and model of the vehicle, and have your driver's license. To contact Public Safety to request registration in advance or for further information, call 270-809-4812.

Thank You!

Photo Policies

Photography in Pogue:

Thank you for your interest in our beautiful Pogue Library building!  Pogue Library's primary role is to serve students, faculty, and the community in their research needs.  We understand that our facility is beautiful both inside and out, and makes a great backdrop for special occasion photos.  We ask that if you are interested in scheduling photos to be taken in Pogue that you comply with the following:

--All photos inside the facility must be taken during working hours.  We are not staffed to open up evenings or weekends for photography. 

--Please let us know in advance.  We will put up signage indicating your plans so that students won't commit to a space that might be used for your photographs.  

--Please know that research is our first priority.  We will do what we can to help you make your photographs beautiful without interrupting our daily tasks. 

--Please refrain from taking photographs of copyrighted images (portraits or other signage) or MSU emblems (such as the shield).  

--Due to the gift agreement, photography in the Pogue War & Diplomacy Room is strictly prohibited.