Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Works on Race or Racism
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by
Call Number: HV6789 E43 2009 - Reference Collection
The Encyclopedia of Race and Crime covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by
Call Number: E184.A1 E584 2008 - Reference Collection
Available online via Gale eBooks. Also available in print from Waterfield Library. The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism is the first such work examining the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era.
Electronic Books on Race or Racism
Racism in American Public Life by
Publication Date: 2021-02-16
For some in our society, diversity is a threat. Others feel society should be more inclusive, if only out of fairness. But as Johnnetta Cole argues in her new book, embracing diversity and inclusiveness is more than a virtuous ideal; it is essential to a healthy, productive society. Focusing on higher education and other arenas of cultural development, Cole explores our institutions' vulnerability to the influence of racism and the wider implications for American society. At the core of Cole's argument is the belief that increasing the representation of historically marginalized groups on college campuses, and in museums, media, and other institutions is, like the liberal arts, vitally important to social progress.
Settler Colonialism, Race, and the Law by
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
How taking Indigenous sovereignty seriously can help dismantle the structural racism encountered by other people of color in the United States. Settler Colonialism, Race, and the Law provides a timely analysis of structural racism at the intersection of law and colonialism. Noting the grim racial realities still confronting communities of color, and how they have not been alleviated by constitutional guarantees of equal protection, this book suggests that settler colonial theory provides a more coherent understanding of what causes and what can help remediate racial disparities. Natsu Taylor Saito attributes the origins and persistence of racialized inequities in the United States to the prerogatives asserted by its predominantly Angloamerican colonizers to appropriate Indigenous lands and resources, to profit from the labor of voluntary and involuntary migrants, and to ensure that all people of color remain "in their place."
Microaggressions and Modern Racism by
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
Microaggressions and Modern Racism: Endurance and Evolution explores the causes, manifestations, and consequences of microaggressions, macroaggressions, and modern racism within society. Using surveys and interview data alongside examples in mainstream media, Levchak provides a comprehensive analysis of modern racism on college campuses, in workplaces, and in various media. In so doing, she expands microaggression theory and explores race-based aggression and race relations through sociological and social justice frameworks. The resources offered here have the potential to inform anti-racism policy, programming, and practice that can impact the lives and well-being of all people.