It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A research guide for new library users searching for non-discipline specific information.
The updated online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and websites.
Databases for Arguments and Controversial Issues
Other databases not listed may be appropriate, depending on the topic you select for your research. Visit the subject guide that your topic broadly fits in to find a more complete, specialized list of database resources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Includes different information formats, include statistics, opinion, news, and peer-reviewed articles.
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Indexes newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals in all disciplines. Contains a significant amount of full-text. Content available from 1915-present.
Provides selected full text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London) as well as selected full text from more than regional newspapers, international papers, news wire services and TV/Radio transcripts. Generally one year's coverage only.
The New York Times Archive searches the contents of the New York Times from 1851 to present. Full text is provided to Murray State users. Murray State users will need to create an account to authenticate access, AND MUST BE ON CAMPUS FOR REGISTRATION. Following registration, access is available off-campus. Visit http://www.nytimes.com/GroupPass to create a free account. If you are unable able to come to campus to create your account, please contact Cris Ferguson .
Google's index of professional publications. Recommended highly as an adjunct to library resources, and for research needs after graduation, in a work environment. Especially strong in the sciences & technology. NOTE: ON CAMPUS USE will include and access to MSU copies of the articles.
Reviews & Criticism for films, plays, poetry, etc.
Searchable bibliography of work published on literature and language since 1963. There is very little full-text available within the database itself, so it is recommended to use the Get it @ MSU button.
This is a full-text archive of key academic journals in many disciplines, mostly in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Being an archive, it does NOT USUALLY have the current issues of these journals. Most journals have a “lag time” of 2-5 years.
Covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Features full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art & Architecture Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Provides detailed information for movies in theaters, on video or DVD, and forthcoming, as well as television movies and series. Awards and Reviews lists reviews from authoritative sources such as the New York Times. Movie information includes directors, producers, actors, plot summaries, character names, soundtracks, release dates, box office grosses, awards information, and much more.
The world's most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database. Uniquely relevant to today's curriculum, the resource's rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches.