Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG035-12-24 Murray State Training School - Photograph Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Murray State Training School - Photograph Collection

Collection Title: Photograph Collection

Series Number: RG035-12-24

Department: Murray State Training School

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Tara Marcum in September 2012

Date Listed: September 14, 2012

Date Span: 1942-1956

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document cases

Type of Material: Photographic prints

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

Historical Information: The Murray State Training was established as a student teaching center for the Murray State Normal School (presently Murray State University) in the summer of 1924 at Murray High School. A building to house the program was completed in 1928. It was also known as the Laboratory School and later the University School. The training school closed in 1973. Lillian Lowry taught English and French at the Training School during the 1940s and 1950s.

Scope and Content: Collections consists of photographic prints acquired and retained by Lillian Lowry relating to the Murray State Training School on the Murray State College (presently Murray State University) campus from 1942 to 1956. The photographic images contain events, activities, group pictures of faculty and staff, athletic teams, clubs and other organizations affiliated with the school. Included with the collection are two of Lowry’s address books from 1930s to the 1960s.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State Training School – History.

Murray State Training School – Pictorial works.

Murray State University – History.

Lowry, Lillian, d. 1976