Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG031-12-26 WKMS-FM Radio - Archive Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

WKMS-FM Radio - Archive File

Collection Title: Archive Files

Series Number: RG031-12-26

Department: WKMS-FM Radio

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in September 2012

Date Listed: September 13, 2012

Date Span: 1968-1998

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case

Type of Material: Brochures, programs, newsletters, press releases, newspaper clippings and ephemera

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Organized by type of format; chronological arrangement

Historical Information: WKMS Radio was established on the Murray State University campus in 1970. Initial plans for a FM radio station began in 1967 and a year later became a reality when permission was granted by KETA television to use their broadcast tower in Farmington for a radio antenna. A TV and radio station studio was constructed in the Fine Arts Building in 1969. WKMS began broadcasting on May 11, 1970. In October of 1978, the radio station received a grant to construct a 100,000 watt transmission tower in the Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area, which expanded the station’s capacity to broadcast to the entire Jackson Purchase area of southwest Kentucky and northwest Tennessee.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of listening guides (1976-1992), operations handbook (1968), newspaper clippings (1973-1998) and ephemera related to or published for WKMS Radio of Murray, Kentucky from 1968 to 1998. The collection was transferred from the Murray State University Archives vertical file on September 13, 2012.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

WKMS-FM (Radio station : Murray, Ky.)

Radio stations – Kentucky.

Radio programs -- Kentucky