Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG030-11-55 Facilities Management - Blueprints and Drawings: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Facilities Management - Blueprints and Drawings

Collection Title: Blueprints and Drawings

Series Number: RG030-11-55

Department: Facilities Management

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Susie Adams in December 2011

Date Listed: December 6, 2011

Date Span: 1924-2006

Size of Collection: 13.0 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 20 archival tubes and 1 oversized box

Type of Material: Blueprints and drawings

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Organized by name of building and architect; chronological arrangement

Historical Information: Blueprints and drawings related to the Library Services Department of Murray State University were collected and retained for future reference and archived after becoming outdated.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of blueprints and drawings of buildings on the Murray State University campus from 1924 to 2006. The blueprints and drawings of buildings contained in the collection include Wells Hall, Pogue Library, Lowry Center, Waterfield Library, Boy Scout Museum and the Curris Center. Included in the collection is a reprinted plat drawing of Murray Court Square from 1854.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – Designs and plans.

Libraries – Designs and plans.

Murray State University. Waterfield Library.

Murray State University. Pogue Library.

Murray State University. Wells Hall.

Murray State University. Lowry Center.

Murray State University. Curris Center.

Murray State University. Boy Scout Museum.

Murray (Ky.) – History.

Research Notes: Usage restrictions may apply.

Inventory of Collection

TUBE 1

Item 1
Building/Location: Student Union / North 15th Street
Subject: Working floor plan to renovate building into library
Dated: N/A [prior to Fall 1977]

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: 2nd Level – East (A sheet)
Lobby Floor Plans [2nd Level – West] (B sheet)
1st Level – East (C sheet)
1st Level – West (D sheet)
3rd Level  (E sheet)
Director’s Office Area (Drawing 2 of 2)
Technical Services – (Drawing 1 of 1)
Dated: August 1977 (Director's Office & Technical Services sheets) / September 28, 1977 (B sheet) / September 29, 1977 (A sheet) / September 30, 1977 (C & E sheet) / October 3, 1977 (D sheet)

Item 3
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Floor Plan
Dated: March 16, 1977 (1st sheet)
March 17, 1977 (2nd sheet)
March 18, 1977 (3rd sheet)

TUBE 2

Item 1
Building/Location: Pogue Library / North 15th & Olive Streets
Subject: Murray State Teachers College Library
Dated: September 9, 1930

Item 2
Building/Location: Special Collections [Pogue] Library / corner of North 15th & Olive Streets
Subject: Second Floor (1st sheet) & Mezzanine (2nd sheet) Floor Plan
Dated: 10/17/1977, revised

Item 3
Building/Location: Library Building / Murray State Teachers College / Located at Murray, Kentucky
Subject: Blueprints / Floor Plan
Dated: November 1929

Item 4
Building/Location: Library Building / Murray State Teachers College / Located at Murray, Kentucky
Subject: Blueprints / Floor Plan
Dated: November 1929

TUBE 3

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Scroll Dimensions (w/clearance): 3” x 25”
Subject: Furnishing – Carrels, book trucks, magazine racks, newspaper racks, card catalogs, book shelves, slant-top bookshelves
Dated: March 28, 1978 – April 3, 1978

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Custom Study Stations
Dated: June 26, 1978

TUBE 4

Building/Location: Waterfield Student Union Building / Library – North 15th Street/Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library, Murray State University, Murray, KY. // Student Union Building, Murray State College, Murray, Kentucky – combined set of floor plans
Dated: Library section undated; December 9, 1957

TUBE 5

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Renovation & Addition to the Waterfield Building [Library]
Dated: July 29, 1976

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library, Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky
Dated: December 15, 1975

TUBE 6

Item 1
Building/Location:  Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Electrical & Lighting Fixtures in Waterfield Library
Dated: July 29, 1976

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Blueprint, Room Finish Key
Dated: July 29, 1976

Item 3
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Floor plans, blueprints
Dated: July 29, 1976

Item 4
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library, Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky
Dated: December 1975

Item 5
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library Floor Plans
Date: July 29, 1976

TUBE 7

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Library – Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Schematic Design Submittal – Renovation and Additions to Waterfield Library – MSU – Main Campus
Dated: March 17, 2005

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Renovation and Additions to Waterfield Library Schematic Design
Dated: March 17, 2005

Item 3
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Interior Renovation for Waterfield Library, MSU, Main Campus
Dated: June 9, 2004

Item 4
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Preliminary Masterplan for Waterfield Library, MSU, Main Campus
Dated: August 22, 2004

TUBE 8

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Elevations (south & west) & floor plans for ground, main, & second floor
Dated:  N/A

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Variations (A-F) of Building Elevation - East
Dated: N/A

Item 3
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Floor Plans
Dated: N/A

Item 4
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Main floor of Waterfield Library, working copy for electrical outlets for offices and computers
Dated: N/A

TUBE 9

Building/Location: Regional Special Events Center / CFSB / Hwy 121 Bypass
Subject: Concourse Level – Key Plan
Dated: July 1994

TUBE 10

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Ground Level – Two options of layout of compact shelving
Dated:  N/A

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library Murray State University – compact shelving layout
Dated: February 2, 2006

Item 3
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Murray State University – Library Renovation – Murray, Kentucky
Dated: February 13, 2006

TUBE 11

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Building [Library] / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Renovation and Addition to Waterfield Building, Murray State University – floor plans and elevations
Dated: N/A

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Building [Library] / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Renovation and Addition to Waterfield Building, Murray State University
Dated: September 30, 1975

TUBE 12

Building/Location: Lowry [Annex] Center / North 15th Street
Subject: Addition to Library, Murray State College, Murray, KY
Dated: May 13, 1965

TUBE 13

Building/Location: Student Union [Waterfield] Building / North 15th Street
Subject: Student Union Building, Murray State College, Murray, Kentucky
Dated: December 9, 1957

TUBE 14

Building/Location: Curris Center / Chestnut Street
Subject: Curris Center Blueprints
Dated: July 21, 1977

TUBE 15

Item 1

Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky, Retrofit of Waterfield Library, Engineering File No. S-187; Phase - B
Dated: N/A

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Retrofit of Waterfield Library, Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky
Dated: January 3, 1990

TUBE 16

Item 1
Building/Location:  Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Phase II Renovation Project – Lower level
Dated: February 8, 2006

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Renovation – Phase II, Engineering Project 06-002B, Moving Documents
Dated: April 2006

TUBE 17

Item 1
Building/Location: [Pogue] Library Building / Murray State Teachers College / Located at Murray, Kentucky / North 15th & Olive Streets
Subject: Original? Blueprints / Floor Plan
Dated: November 1929

Item 2
Building/Location: Pogue Library / North 15th Street
Subject: Pogue Library Remodeled
Dated: N/A

Item 3
Building/Location: Pogue Library / North 15th Street
Subject: Library: Legal Resources Division, Floor Plan
Dated: November 1978

TUBE 18

Item 1
Building/Location: Proposed Library Addition [Lowry Annex/Center] / North 15th Street
Subject: Floor Plans, longitudinal section, elevations, & site plans
Dated: June 22, 1964

Item 2
Building/Location: Lowry [Center] Annex
Subject: Proposed Library Addition, Murray State College, Murray, Kentucky; Floor Plans
Dated: June 22, 1964

TUBE 19

Item 1
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library, Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky Asbestos Abatement; Engineering File No. S-187; Account No. 02-45-445-0401
Dated: September 12-14, 1989

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Floor plans for seating, carrels, & shelving in Waterfield Library
Dated: 3 sets: 1st-5/2/1977, 2nd-7/11/1977, 3rd-12/21/1977

TUBE 20

Item 1
Building/Location: Women’s Dormitory [Wells] Hall / North 16th Street
Subject: Women’s Dormitory Building for the Murray State Normal School (To Be Located at Murray, Kentucky)
Dated: August 30, 1924

Item 2
Building/Location: Murray Court Square
Subject: Original Plat of Murray
Dated: 1854 source

Item 3
Building/Location: University Center Parking Lot / Chestnut Street
Subject: site survey, grading & drainage plan, layout, curbing, walks, electrical, details, profiles
Dated: January 29, 1982

Item 4
Building/Location: Elizabeth Hall
Subject: Preliminary building and floor plans
Dated: January 22, 1964

TUBE 21 & 22

Building/Location: Boy Scout Museum
Subject: Original Tracings
Dated: July 1989

FLAT BOX

Item 1
Building/Location: Lowry [Center] Annex / North 15th Street
Subject: Addition to Library, Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky / Floor Plans
Dated: May 1977

Item 2
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: New Smoking Area; Stacks Area – new addition
Dated: N/A

Item 3
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Renovation of Seminar room – Waterfield Library for Comput. & Info. Systems [located on main level in extreme southeast corner of building]
Dated: N/A

Item 4
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Map of Harry Lee Waterfield Library [mimeographed]
Dated: N/A

Item 5
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Waterfield Library, Entrance Control Gate
Dated: N/A

Item 6
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Building outline of all three floors and numbered spaces within
Dated: N/A

Item 7
Building/Location: Waterfield Library / Pedestrian Mall
Subject: Building outline of all three floors and numbered spaces within
Dated: N/A

Item 8
Building/Location: Lowry [Center] Annex / North 15th Street
Subject: Media Resources Center – Lowry Annex; 1st, 2nd, & 3rd Floor Plans
Dated: February 1977

Item 9
Building/Location: Pogue Library / North 15th Street
Subject: Hand-drawn sketch of building layout / floor plans
Dated: [1985]

Item 10
Building/Location: Murray State University Library [Pogue & Lowry] / North 15th Street
Subject: Map of Library including Main Building & C. S. Lowry Annex
Dated: N/A