Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG016-13-07 Library Services - Archives Vertical Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Library Services - Archives Vertical Files

Collection Title: Archives Vertical Files

Series Number: RG016-13-07

Department: Library Services

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Chris T. Lossie & Noah Strader from March to November 2013

Date Listed: November 20, 2013

Date Span: ca. 1930s-2012

Size of Collection: 18.5 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 36 letter size document cases and 1 legal size document case

Type of Material: Records, newspaper clippings, flyers, memorandums, posters and ephemera

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject heading; chronological arrangement

Historical Information: The Archives Vertical File was created by the Department of Special Collections & Archives of Murray State University to preserve and document the history of the college through printed and published materials.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of printed and published materials acquired and deemed historically significant by the Department of Special Collections & Archives of Murray State University from the 1970 to 2012. The vertical file contains press releases, newspaper clippings, flyers, office and departmental memos, posters, informational and promotional publications, ephemera and other items distributed by the various offices and departments on the University campus. The files include historical and biographical information on prominent events and people associated with the college.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – Special Collections & Archives Department.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Departments – History.