Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG016-11-54 Library Services - Reference Department Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Library Services - Reference Department Records

Collection Title: Library Services - Reference Department Records

Series Number: RG016-11-54

Department: Library Services

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Susie Adams in November 2011

Date Listed: December 6, 20111

Date Span: 1969-20081

Size of Collection: 1.0 linear foot

Number of Boxes: 2 letter size document cases

Type of Material: Annual reports and manuals

Condition of Material: Goods

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically; chronological arrangement Historical Information: The Library Services Department at Murray State University was initially established as a normal school library in October of 1923 with only 25 books. The first library was located temporarily on the stage of Murray High School’s auditorium with the books stored in an adjacent dressing room. The library moved to the new Normal School Building, now Wrather Hall, in February of 1925 and occupied two rooms on the upper floor. During the summer of 1925, the library was relocated to the recently completed Administration Building, now Wilson Hall, where it again occupied the top floor. A separate library building, now Pogue Library, was constructed and opened on May 1, 1931. In April of 1967, an annex was constructed and attached to old college library, now Lowry Hall, which doubled the library's storage capacity. The present university library, Waterfield Library, was converted from a student union facility in 1977 and opened in August of 1978. The old library continues to serve as a special collections library and university archives.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of annual reports, library handbooks and orientation manuals published by the Library Services Department of Murray State University from 1969 to 2008. The collection contains annual reports from 1969 to 2008 and Library Resource and Information Guides from 1991 to 2004.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Library Services – History.

Murray State University – History.

Academic libraries – Kentucky – Murray.

Library orientation for college students – Kentucky – Murray.