Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG016-11-52 Library Services - Murray State History Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Library Services - Murray State History Files

Collection Title: Murray State History Files

Series Number: RG016-11-52

Department: Library Services

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on November 16, 2011

Date Listed: November 16, 2011

Date Span: 1922-1984

Size of Collection: 2 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 1 oversized box

Type of Material: Newspaper clippings and typescript manuscripts

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

Historical Information: The Murray State History Files were collected by the staff of the Special Collections & Archives Division of the Library Services Department of Murray State University during the 1970s and 1980s.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of typescript manuscripts, magazine articles and newspaper clippings that document historical events that occurred at Murray State University during the 1920s and 1930s. The bulk of the collection is reprinted histories from the 1970s and 1980s. The files include photocopies of significant records from the Kentucky State Archives related to the creation of Murray State Normal School.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

Murray State Normal School – History.

Murray State Teachers College – History.