Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071
FAX (270) 809-6153
Collection Title: Group Photographs
Series Number: RG002-11-38
Department: Department of Journalism and Communications
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Rachel Kim in August and September 2011
Date Listed: September 21, 2011
Date Span: 1924-1998
Size of Collection: 7 linear feet
Number of Boxes: 12 letter size document cases and 1 oversize box
Type of Material: Photographic prints and negatives and newspaper clippings
Condition of Material: Good
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by name of student, staff or faculty organization; Chronological arrangement.
Historical Information: The collection of photographic prints and negatives was located in file cabinets housed in the University Archives at Murray State University since the 1970s. Prior to that date the bulk of the collection was stored at the staff offices of the student newspaper and printing offices of the Department of Journalism and Communications. Later additions to the collection were acquired from various offices and departments across the Murray State University campus.
Scope and Content: Collection consists of group photographs of student, staff or faculty organizations and clubs of Murray State University from 1924 to late 1990s. The collections also contains photographs of the Board of Regents, athletic teams, sororities, fraternities, bands, cheerleaders and other groups associated with the college.
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Murray State University – History.
Murray State University – Photographs.
Murray State University – Pictorial works.
Murray State University – Students.
Murray State University – Faculty.
Inventory to the Group Photographs from the Department of Journalism and Communications