The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Indexes newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals in all disciplines. Contains a significant amount of full-text. Content available from 1915-present.
The world's definitive scholarly business database, including articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, trade publications, and news sources. Company and industry profiles are also available. Citations available from 1880-present.
This is a full-text archive of key academic journals in many disciplines, mostly in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Being an archive, it does NOT USUALLY have the current issues of these journals. Most journals have a “lag time” of 2-5 years.
World's most comprehensive source of full text articles for nursing & allied health, providing full text for 580 journals, and indexing for an additional 2000 professional publications. Coverage from 1980-present.
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google's index of professional publications. Recommended highly as an adjunct to library resources, and for research needs after graduation, in a work environment. Especially strong in the sciences & technology. NOTE: ON CAMPUS USE will include and access to MSU copies of the articles.
Concise Guide to Workplace Safety and Health by Gary ChambersEvery organization must comply with occupational health and safety regulations. Yet it is frequently unclear which actually apply in a given real-life situation, plus the field is loaded with technical terminology and complicated regulations. Many managers, trainers, even safety and health professionals therefore find it hard to know how to comply, with exactly what. Written to make this important discipline more understandable, Concise Guide to Workplace Safety and Health: What You Need to Know, When You Need It systematically addresses, for each of the 34 topics covered, core issues such as relevant regulations, required program elements, and definitions of key terms. Organized for quick access to information, this handy reference book demystifies required documentation, training elements, medical requirements, recordkeeping, and more. Conveniently, the author uses the same 20-part format for every topic. For example, if you want to know only about the documentation required, you can immediately turn to a topic#65533;s Section 9 (Written Documentation Required). If training requirements are the issue, simply go to a chapter#65533;s Section 12 (Training Requirements). Also provided for each topic are links to quality background and training information, with sample forms and programs where available. The guide covers safety and health topics of interest to a wide cross section of industries and businesses. The author#65533;s relaxed, yet focused approach and consistent format allow efficient access to a broad range of occupational health and safety information. The topics covered include not only those that are currently regulated, but also emerging issues such as injury and illness prevention programs, and the rapidly growing field of nanotechnology.
Call Number: T55 .C496 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-05
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics by Gavriel SalvendyThe fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics has been completely revised and updated. This includes all existing third edition chapters plus new chapters written to cover new areas. These include the following subjects: Managing low-back disorder risk in the workplace Online interactivity Neuroergonomics Office ergonomics Social networking HF&E in motor vehicle transportation User requirements Human factors and ergonomics in aviation Human factors in ambient intelligent environments As with the earlier editions, the main purpose of this handbook is to serve the needs of the human factors and ergonomics researchers, practitioners, and graduate students. Each chapter has a strong theory and scientific base, but is heavily focused on real world applications. As such, a significant number of case studies, examples, figures, and tables are included to aid in the understanding and application of the material covered.
Call Number: TA166 .H275 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-13
Kodak's Ergonomic Design for People at Work by Eastman Kodak Company StaffWritten for those who are on the job but not necessarily professionally trained ergonomists, the principles and approaches detailed in this highly regarded guide have all been implemented in real-world workplace environments and proven successful in reducing the potential for occupational injury, increasing the number of people who can perform a job, and improving employee performance on the job. More than 150 clear and informative illustrations and tables help convey data and information in eight sections: Ergonomics design philosophy Human reliability and information transfer Evaluation of job demands Work design Workplace design Manual handling in occupational tasks Equipment design Environment
Call Number: T59.7 E7145 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-10
Corporate Safety Compliance by Thomas D. SchneidSafety and health professionals face potential legal and ethical issues on an almost daily basis. In a landscape of changing responsibilities and new laws, they often make difficult decisions that can result, in hindsight, in the creation of legal issues and liabilities for themselves and their companies. Written by occupational health and safety expert Ton Schneid, Corporate Safety Compliance: OSHA, Ethics, and the Law provides guidance though the maze of legal issues involving OSHA and OSHRC and how to avoid potential legal liability. Tackling safety and ethical issues head on, Schneid explores issues in criminal liability for individuals and corporations under the OSHA Act and state criminal codes. He includes methods for achieving and maintaining OSHA compliance, using specific case studies to illustrate ways to avoid or minimize the impact of legal issues. The text addresses not only OSHA regulations and standards but also the legal aspects up to and including OSHRC decisions on specific issues. Additionally, the author examines the ethical issues involved in many of the legal aspects of the safety issues as well as ethical issues in the day-to-day management of safety and health. The mere mention of the word OSHA scares many people. Often, OSHA has been the much maligned federal agency that was the brunt of attacks from both management and labor organizations. Tom Schneid elucidates the potential legal and ethical issues of the new industrialized workplace. His proactive approach helps you avoid or minimize potential liabilities, where possible, but also gives you the tools to be prepared and knowledgeable in the unique appellate process with OSHA and the OSHRC.
Call Number: T55 .S3282 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-22
Occupational Safety and Health by Charles D. ReeseMost occupational safety and health books explain how to apply concepts, principles, elements, tools of prevention and develop interventions, and initiatives to mitigate occupational injuries, illnesses and deaths. This is not a how-to book. It is a book that addresses the philosophical basis for all of the varied components and elements needed to develop and manage a safety and health program. It is a book designed to answer the questions often posed as to why should we do it this way. It is the "Why" book and the intent is to provide a blueprint and a helpmate for the philosophical basis for occupational safety and health and the justification as an integral component of doing business.