Database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information of the mathematical sciences literature. Most of them are classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Created by the American Mathematical Society. Coverage from 1960-present.
Provides access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, letters, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, IEEE Standards and IEEE educational courses. Full-text from 2005-present.
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Indexes newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals in all disciplines. Contains a significant amount of full-text. Content available from 1915-present.
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics by Eric W. WeissteinThe CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references. Its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds and interests. This fascinating, useful book draws connections to other areas of mathematics and science and demonstrates its actual implementation - providing a highly readable, distinctive text diverging from the all-too-frequent specialized jargon and dry, formal exposition. Through its thousands of explicit examples, formulas, and derivations, The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics gives the reader a flavor of the subject without getting lost in minutiae - stimulating his or her thirst for additional information and exploration. This book serves as handbook, dictionary, and encyclopedia - extensively cross-linked and cross-referenced, not only to other related entries, but also to resources on the Internet. Standard mathematical references, combined with a few popular ones, are also given at the end of most entries, providing a resource for more reading and exploration.
Call Number: QA5 W45 1999
Publication Date: 1998-11-25
The Words of Mathematics by Steven SchwartzmanThe Words of Mathematics explains the origins of over 1500 mathematical terms used in English. While other dictionaries of mathematics define technical terms, this book concentrates on where those terms came from and what their literal meanings are. The words included here range from simple to advanced. This dictionary is easy to use. Although some of the entries are highly technical, the book explains them in plain English. The introduction gives an overview of how the ancient language known as Indo-European developed into Latin, Greek, French and English, the languages from which most of our mathematical vocabulary has been derived. Another section discusses the many ways in which mathematicians have borrowed and created their specialized vocabulary over the centuries. A glossary explains historical and linguistic terms used throughout the book.
Call Number: QA5 S375 1994
Publication Date: 1996-09-05
Essentials of Mathematics by Margie HaleEssentials of Mathematics is designed as both a textbook and outside reading for college students who want to prepare themselves for mathematics courses beyond the first-year level. The mathematical content includes logic, set theory and a theoretical development of the number systems, giving students practice at proving mathematical statements. There are no answers in the book, but a separate manual provides instructor support. The book makes an excellent reference for students beginning to take courses in which proofs play a major role. In addition to the course material, there are narratives on the nature of mathematics and the mathematics profession. These sections can be read without help or guidance.
Call Number: QA39.3. .H34 2003
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Mathematics: a very short introduction by Timothy GowersThis book aims to explain, in clear non-technical language,what it is that mathematicians do, and how that differs from and builds on the mathematics that most people are familiar with from school. It is the ideal introduction for anyone who wishes to deepen their understanding of mathematics.
Call Number: QA93 .G69 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-28
To Infinity and Beyond by Eli MaorThe infinite! No other question has ever moved so profoundly the spirit of man; no other idea has so fruitfully stimulated his intellect; yet no other concept stands in greater need of clarification than that of the infinite. . . - David Hilbert (1862-1943) Infinity is a fathomless gulf, There is a story attributed to David Hilbert, the preeminent mathe into which all things matician whose quotation appears above. A man walked into a vanish. hotel late one night and asked for a room. "Sorry, we don't have o Marcus Aurelius (121- 180), Roman Emperor any more vacancies," replied the owner, "but let's see, perhaps and philosopher I can find you a room after alL" Leaving his desk, the owner reluctantly awakened his guests and asked them to change their rooms: the occupant of room #1 would move to room #2, the occupant of room #2 would move to room #3, and so on until each occupant had moved one room over. To the utter astonish ment of our latecomer, room #1 suddenly became vacated, and he happily moved in and settled down for the night. But a numbing thought kept him from sleep: How could it be that by merely moving the occupants from one room to another, the first room had become vacated? (Remember, all of the rooms were occupied when he arrived.