Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-67 Gilbert Graves Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Gilbert Graves Collection

Collection Title: Gilbert Graves Collection

 

Series Number: MS10-67

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on July 2, 2010.

 

Date Listed: July 2, 2010

 

Date Span: 1924-1982 (bulk, 1968-1982)

 

Size of Collection: 1.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 letter size document case and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, press releases, scrapbooks and photographs.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Gilbert Graves died from a fractured vertebra in his neck while playing football for Murray State Normal School on Thanksgiving Day November 27, 1924. He was a resident of Murray, Kentucky and a student at Murray State Normal School at the time of the accident.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and newspaper clippings related to the death of Gilbert Graves on November 27, 1924 while playing football for the Murray State Normal School at Murray, Kentucky. The bulk of the collection centers upon the background research, plans and preparations for a resolution, street naming and bronze plaque dedicated to Graves by Murray State University in 1974. Included in the collection are correspondence and transcriptions of interviews with surviving witnesses to the event, photographs of Graves, family photo albums, a cassette reel of a radio program from 1969 titled the “Gilbert Graves Story” and press releases related to the dedication of the monument.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Graves, Gilbert, 1903-1924 – Death – Sources.

Graves, Wildy H., 1872-1936

Graves family.

Murray State University – Football -- History.

Box List

Box 1

  1.  Background Information
  2.  Correspondence 1968-1973
  3.  Correspondence 1974-1982
  4.  Ephemera
  5.  Memorial Inscription- Drafts
  6.  Newspaper Clippings- Memorial Dedication and Ceremonies 1924-1974
  7.  Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous
  8.  Photographs- Family
  9.  Photographs- Gilbert Graves
  10.  Photographs- Monument Dedication and Homecoming 1974
  11.  Press Releases
  12.  Radio Program- “Gilbert Graves Story” 1969
  13.  Resolution- Proposal
  14. Bound Scrapbook Album
  15. Bound Scrapbook Album
  16. Bound Scrapbook Album
  17.  Wildy H. Graves
  18.  Miscellaneous

Box 2

  1. Framed photo
  2. Framed photo

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152