Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Special Collections & University Archives: Home

Homepage for the Murray State University Special Collections & Archives located at Pogue Library.

Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Occasional events in Pogue require us to close. Call ahead or check the calendar on the Genealogy Home page.
 

Closings and Special Events

August 15th - Classes Begin

 

August 25th - Limited Access due to Board of Regents Meeting

 

September 4th - Labor Day - Closed

 

October 5 & 6th - Fall Break

 

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

Office (270)809-6152
(270)809-4295
FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Special Notice

Please Note:

Our microfilm collection has been affected by vinegar syndrome causing us to need to pull a large part of the collection.  We appreciate your patience as we deal with this time consuming issue.

Thank you!

Special Collections

The Special Collections Department was established in 1968 to serve the needs of its patrons by acquiring and providing access to information about the cultural history of the Jackson Purchase area of southwestern Kentucky and northwestern Tennessee. Published and printed regional and county histories, manuscript materials, oral histories and other significantly unique items that support the curriculum of Murray State University are acquired and made available for use by students and researchers.

University Archives

The Archives Department at Murray State University was also established in 1968 to act as the repository for the official and unofficial records that document the history of the university. The Archives serves as the institutional memory of the university and as custodian of the university's historic legacy. The primary objective of the Archives is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available university records and related materials of permanent historical value. The Archives also aims to support research, teaching, and public awareness of the rich heritage of Murray State University for students and researchers.

Visitor Parking

A Parking Permit is required to park on campus. A permit may be acquired at the Public Safety and Emergency Management Building on the corner of N. 16th Street and Chestnut. A temporary one day permit is available at the front desk as you sign into Pogue. To contact Public Safety to request a permit in advance or for further information, call 270-809-4812.

Thank You!