Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Special Collections Usage Policies: Home

These are the Policies and Procedures of the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives.

Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Use of Special Collections Materials Policy

 

General Rules Governing Use of Materials in Special Collections

The books and manuscripts in Special Collections are available for research use and are subject to the following rules:

  • Archival material from these collections does not circulate and must be consulted in the Reading Room, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Researchers must sign the register daily and present valid photo-identification.
  • Researchers are permitted to use one book at a time. Exceptions may be made by the person on duty if appropriate. (Examples: Researchers using multi-volume sets or working on textual comparisons).
  • All inquiries concerning photocopying must be referred to a librarian.
  • Special Collections material must be handled with great care. USE PENCIL ONLY. Do not make any marks on the materials, and do not open uncut pages.
  • Keep Special Collections materials on reading room table surfaces at all times, unless provided special supports for the materials by the desk attendant.
  • No books, papers, or other objects may be laid on Special Collections materials.
  • When using manuscripts material, do not disturb the arrangement of papers or folders.
  • When you have finished using material, please return it to the desk and wait until the material has been checked in.
  • It is possible to place material on "Hold" if you plan to make repeated use of the material within the week. Please inform the desk attendant whether you will be using the material again during the next week.  

Reproducing and Photographing Special Collections Materials

  • Applications to reproduce Special Collections materials must be submitted for approval by the Special Collections librarian.
  • All requests for photography must be approved by a Special Collections librarian.
  • Approved photography is allowed by appointment ONLY. Please call (270) 809-4295 to make an appointment.
  • Permission to reproduce or to photograph does not imply permission to publish.

Rules Governing Use of Manuscripts

The manuscript collections of Murray State University are available for research use by students, faculty, and visiting scholars. All manuscript users must complete a registration application form, provide valid photo-identification (institutional ID, driver's license), and sign the register daily. Special permission may be required for access to restricted collections. All material must be used in the Special Collections reading room, in accordance with the general Special Collections Regulations. Murray State University reserves the right to limit the amount of material issued to a researcher at any one time.

Locating Manuscripts

Researchers can locate manuscripts through a variety of finding aids including manuscript accession sheets, separate indexes, calendars, and inventories to individual collections. Selected collections have also been cataloged into RACERTrac, the Murray State University online catalog. Researchers should consult a Special Collections librarian for assistance in locating manuscripts.

Photocopying Manuscripts

Murray State University will permit a reasonable amount of photocopying from its manuscript holdings, but reserves the right to restrict copying from any of its collections and to deny requests for copies. Photocopies are for reference use only and may not be transferred to any other person or institution without specific permission of the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives. A librarian must approve all photocopy requests, which may be submitted on an application to reproduce Special Collections materials.

Permission to Publish Manuscripts

Permission to consult or reproduce manuscripts does not constitute authorization to publish them. Permission to publish manuscript materials in the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives must be obtained in writing from a Special Collections librarian. The letter of application should specify the materials to be reproduced and the publication in which they will be used. Permission is granted insofar as the University is the owner of property rights and does not include literary rights, which must be obtained by the researcher or publisher from the author, or the author's heirs, estate, or literary executor.

Other Rules May Apply