Circulating BooksReference Books
NUR099NUR200NUR314NUR410TEAS Test
APANeed Writing Help?
This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Murray State University Library Guides Racer Writing Center Racer Communication Center Library Home My Gate RacerNet Canvas Library Guides Home

Nursing  

Essential resources for research in Nursing and related fields.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.murraystate.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us!

Ask us
Chat with us Text us
Email us Call us
 

Pinterest

Follow and explore Murray State Libraries on Pinterest to find more resources on the web. 

Follow Me on Pinterest
 

Primo Search

Primo Search

Off campus? Sign in

Nursing @ Waterfield Library

The nursing collection at Waterfield Library supports the scholarly and research efforts in the School of Nursing.  The collection provides resources in research and study areas including, but not limited to: nursing fundamentals and concepts, theory, care of adults, professional nursing, pharmacology in nursing, psychiatric and mental health nursing, community health nursing, medical ethics, leadership and management in nursing, and research in nursing.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Developing Online Learning Environments in Nursing Education - Carol A. O'Neil (Editor); Cheryl A. Fisher (Editor); Matthew J. Rietschel (Editor)
ISBN: 0826199135
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
This third edition of the best-selling nurse educator's handbook on using online teaching tools and assessing their results keeps pace with the rapid-fire progression in digital learning that has occurred since the second edition was published in 2008. Completely revised and updated, this edition presents several new interactive digital tools and current guidelines in translating courses from the classroom to the online environment. The guide provides new content on web-based learning theories and how to optimally teach students using the latest technology. Additionally, this edition offers new information on staff development and the role of the staff development educator, guides instructors on how to build an online community, and includes practical, proven measures for student assessment and evaluation in online education. Using a step-by-step approach, the book discusses the basics of online learning using a guided constructivist model, the infrastructure of online learning, and its technical support needs. Current evidence-based research examines blended learning environments, teacher-student interactions, course management, web-based resources, and best practices. The text includes an overview of free and for-purchase technologies and describes how to choose those technologies that meet the needs of a particular teaching context. This text will provide guidance for using the web to teach students and professional nurses the skills they need to achieve optimal outcomes. New to the Third Edition: Provides current guidelines on translating courses from the classroom to the online environment, Presents new content on web-based learning theories and teaching with technology, Describes how to build an online community, Includes practical measures for student assessment and evaluation in online education backed by research and consensus, Features a new chapter on the nurse's role in staff development Book jacket.

Cover Art
Nursing Care Plans - Meg Gulanick; Judith L. Myers
Call Number: RT49 .N87 2014
ISBN: 9780323091374
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
The bestselling nursing care planning book on the market, Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 8th Edition covers the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems seen in adults. It includes 217 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence and best practice guidelines. NEW to this edition are 13 new care plans and two new chapters including care plans that address health promotion and risk factor management along with basic nursing concepts that apply to multiple body systems. Written by expert nursing educators Meg Gulanick and Judith Myers, this reference functions as two books in one, with 147 disorder-specific and health management nursing care plans and 70 nursing diagnosis care plans to use as starting points in creating individualized care plans.

Cover Art
Nursing Theorists and Their Work - Martha Raile Alligood
ISBN: 0323091946
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
The most comprehensive of its kind, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 8th Edition provides an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories help bridge the gap between theory and application. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm your comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. Beginning chapters provide a strong foundation on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Pictures of theorists, as well as a listing of contact information for each individual, enables you to contact the source of information directly. Theorist chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist, validating the accounts set forth in the text for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information, ideal for both undergraduate and graduate research projects. NEW! Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. NEW! Chapter on Afaf Meleis profiles a theorist who has shaped theoretical development in nursing and explores her "transition theory." NEW! Need to Know Information is highlighted to streamline long, complex passages and help you review key concepts. NEW! Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information.

Cover Art
Professional Nursing - Beth Black
Call Number: RT82 .P755 2014
ISBN: 9781455702701
Publication Date: 2013-01-24
Now in full-color, this best-selling, easy-to-read text introduces you to the issues and trends you're likely to encounter in any nursing practice setting. Each stand-alone chapter explores a specific topic and gives insightful discussions of issues such as the health care delivery system, professionalization in nursing, standards and scope of practice, socialization and nursing theories surrounding the profession, and political action facing nurses. Case studies help you empathize with real patients. Critical thinking questions and challenges enable you to apply chapter-relevant information to scenarios and envision a personal philosophy of nursing. Evidence-based Practice boxes offer insight and highlight research that affects patient care. News Notes tie information from the text to real-life nursing situations. Cultural Consideration Challenges help you develop cultural sensitivity and familiarize you with cultural influences. Interview boxes explore the issues of culture and faith from the perspectives of practicing nurses. NEW! Full-color design improves the appearance of the many halftones in the text. NEW! The most up-to-date information on responding to several critical and recent initiatives includes the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act; the Carnegie Study - Educating Nurses: A Call for Radical Transformation; the IOM report on the Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health; QSEN; and the ANA's Health System Reform Agenda. NEW! Expanded content on social media's impact on nursing offers insight into the legal issues, ethics, boundaries, and image of nursing involved in social media. NEW! Increase use of nurses' narratives and real-life work examples helps paint an even clearer picture of the realities of nursing practice. NEW! Reframing of Chapter 16 Nursing's Challenge: The Call for Transformation increases your knowledge of care of self, care of the profession, and care of the environment.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Candace K. Vance, MIS
Contact Info
213A Waterfield Library
Murray State University
Murray, KY 42071
cvance4@murraystate.edu
Send Email
 

Recommended Browsers/ Versions

To best view this LibGuide, the following browsers/ versions are recommended:

  • Explorer 7 and higher
  • Firefox 3.6 and higher
  • Safari 5

In addition, you must have the latest version of Adobe installed on your computer in order to open the pdfs.

(Faculty, if you do not have these versions installed on your computers, please go through the proper request procedures to contact the Technology Coordinator in your College) 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip