Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS69-02 A. G. J. Wells Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

A. J. G. Wells Papers

Collection Title: A. G. J. Wells Papers
 
Series Number: 69-02
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich
 
Date Listed: January 8, 2010
 
Date Span: 1908-1940
 
Size of Collection: .5 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized document case; 13x27x39 cm.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence.
 
Condition of Material: Fair to good condition with foxing and fading evident.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: A. J. G. Wells was born on October 23, 1868 in Calloway County, Kentucky to Andrew Jackson Wells and Mary Margaret Wells. He was educated in public schools, including the Murray Institute and Southern Normal School. He served as principal of Trezevant Male and Female College. He studied and practiced law under Rainey T. Wells of Murray, Kentucky. Wells was nominated by the Democratic Party for County Judge of Calloway County in 1904 and was elected in 1906. He became regionally famous as the “Night Rider judge” for his efforts to curtail vigilantism in the county. In 1909, he was appointed a member of the State Board of Control for Charitable Institutions.  On February 24, 1913 he became Warden of the Kentucky State Reformatory in Frankfort. Wells later served as school principle at Cedar Key High School in Cedar Key, Florida from 1925 to 1926 and from 1931 to 1936. He died in 1940.
 
Scope and Content: The bulk of the collection contains correspondence sent to Governor Augustus E. Willson endorsing the appointment of A. J. G. Wells to the Kentucky State Board of Control for Charitable Institutions from October to December of 1908. Included in the collection are signed petitions from citizens of Calloway County endorsing Willson as a board member and a typescript speech he delivered to the Women’s Club of Louisville on November 18, 1913.  
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Wells, A. J. G., 1868-1940.
Willson, Augustus E., 1846-1931
Night Riders.
Murray (Ky.) – History.
Calloway County (Ky.) – History.
 
Additional Sources: See Bidwell, William E., Legislative history and Capitol souvenir of Kentucky: Portraits and sketches of senators, representatives and officials and attaches of the various state departments. Frankfort, KY: Frankfort Printing Co., 1910.
 
Research Notes: Open to the public for educational research. Restrictions may apply due to deteriorating conditions of the originals. Check for copyright restrictions.
 
Box List

Box 1

  1. A.J.G. Wells Papers Correspondnece: October- November, 1908
  2. A.J.G. Wells Papers Correspondnece: December 1-5, 1908
  3. A.J.G. Wells Papers Correspondnece: December 7-14, 1908
  4. A.J.G. Wells Papers Correspondnece: December 15-31, 1908
  5. A.J.G. Wells Papers Correspondnece from Wells, 1908
  6. A.J.G. Wells Papers Petitions, 1908
  7. A.J.G. Wells Papers Telegrams: December 22, 1908- January 1, 1909
  8. A.J.G. Wells Papers Speech- Women's Club of Louisville, 1913
  9. A.J.G. Wells Papers Condolence, 1940
  10. A.J.G. Wells Letters: Oct. 2- Nov. 30, 1908
  11. A.J.G. Wells Letters: Dec. 1-5, 1908
  12. A.J.G. Wells Letters: Dec. 7-14, 1908
  13. A.J.G. Wells Letters: Dec. 15-31, 1908
  14. A.J.G. Wells Telegrams: Dec. 30, 1908- Jan. 1, 1909
  15. A.J.G. Wells Letters from Wells, 1908
  16. A.J.G. Wells Petitions, 1908
  17. A.J.G. Wells Speech, Warden Record, 1913
  18. A.J.G. Wells Letter of Condolence, May 19, 1940

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152