Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Gift and Donation Policies: Give Now!

Office of Development

 
Contact 

Director of Development - EDU Library Office of Development
200 HH
Murray, KY 42071
(270) 809-3026

Giving

As the Murray State community relies more and more on learning centers, electronic resources, and the most current of academic literature, your donations will be invaluable in helping us to more adequately serve students, faculty and alumni. Questions about giving can be directed to Melanie Brooks in the Development Office.

Give Now!

State Resources for Alumni

Kentucky - 

Kentucky Virtual Library: Online sources for research. You will need a valid Kentucky public library card; contact your local library for the ID/password combination to access these databases. To find a library near you, go to http://www.kdla.ky.gov/directory.htm. For more information on the databases, visit the website at http://www.kyvl.org/. Kentucky also offers a statewide Interlibrary Loan system; contact your local public library for details.

Alabama - 

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL): Statewide, free online library of databases. You must obtain an AVL Card from your local library before you can access these databases from home. No online registration is offered. To find the library closest to you, visit http://www.apls.state.al.us/webpages/resources/publiclibraries.html.  For more information on AVL, including descriptions of the databases available, see http://www.avl.lib.al.us/about/index.html.

Florida - 

Florida Electronic Library (FEL): Online research databases accessible remotely via the barcode on your local public library card. To find a library near you, go to http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/fgils/fl_lib.html#Public. Each library’s web page should tell you how to obtain a library card. To access the databases or to find more information about them visit http://www.flelibrary.org/. Florida Library Information Network (FLIN): Statewide cooperative network for Interlibrary Loan and resource sharing. Each library’s web page should also include information on their policies for Interlibrary Loan.

Illinois - 

Statewide Illinois Library Catalog (SILC): allows you to link to a local, shared catalog record to see if and where an item is available for Interlibrary Loan: http://www.finditillinois.org/tryit/ It includes online resources as well as all the online services provided by Illinois State Library. Scroll down slightly to find links to online databases on the left hand side of the page, which are provided through E-Rich. These databases are offered for a period of time each year. Note that you will need an authorization and password from your local library to access these databases; to find a library near you go to http://www.eliillinois.org/.

 

Indiana - 

INSPIRE Databases: Collection of databases and indexes, many of them full-text. Note that you will need to register at http://login.inspire.net/ to obtain a password. For more information on the databases, see www.inspire.net. PLAC: Public Library Access Card. Allows you to borrow from any Indiana public library outside of your home library district. Fee is $30 per year. In order to participate in this program, you will need to obtain a PLAC Card. To be eligible for this you will need to obtain a library card from your home library if you have not done so already, then purchase a PLAC Card. To find a library near you, go to http://www.in.gov/library/2600.htm.

 

Missouri - 

MOREnet (Missouri Research and Education Network) Online resources and databases available through the public library, http://www.more.net/online/index.html. To find a library near you, go to http://www.sos.mo.gov/library/libdir.asp. Your local library may have an agreement that allows you to check out items from another library, or with a regional library system. 

Tennessee - 

Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL): for remote access, you will need to contact your local library for the password. To find a library near you, go to http://tnsos.net/TSLA/PLD/index.php. TEL contains 18 databases. http://tntel.tnsos.org/ Tennessee Public Library Catalog: You can search all public libraries in Tennessee by placing a checkmark in the box next to Tennessee database. If your local library does not have the item(s) you want, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan, then track the status of the request(s), if your library has set up this capability. If not, contact your library for assistance. If you check the box by Library Consortia, you can search all public libraries as well as University of Tennessee Knoxville. If you check the box by Virtual Libraries, you can search University of Tennessee Knoxville and Knox County Library. http://tenn-agent.auto-graphics.com/MVC/

Texas - 

Texas: TexShare Card: Allows you to borrow items directly from any participating library in Texas, including all public libraries. If your local library participates in this program, you may obtain a card from them. TexShare Databases: Many valuable online databases are accessible through the TexShare program. They can be accessed in your local library as well as remotely. For remote access, contact your local library to register and/or obtain a login and password. To find a library near you, go to https://www.tsl.texas.gov/texshare/libsearch/index.php.

 

If you don't see your state listed, please call Candee Rose call: 270-809-2187 or email: crose@murraystate.edu

 

Welcome from the Dean

Gifts - Books and other materials

                 Ashley Ireland

Contact:
Dean of Libraries
208 Waterfield Library
Murray, KY  42071
(270) 809-5604

Gift in Kind Policy

MSU Libraries accept donations of materials that support the teaching and research needs of the University community.  For more information click here.