Circulating BooksReference Books
WTS099
APA
This is the "Home" page of the "Exercise Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Murray State University Library Guides Racer Writing Center Racer Communication Center Library Home My Gate RacerNet Canvas Library Guides Home

Exercise Science  

Essential resources for research and study in Exercise Science and related fields.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.murraystate.edu/exercisescience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us!

Ask us
Chat with us Text us
Email us Call us
 

Pinterest

Follow and explore Murray State Libraries on Pinterest to find more resources on the web.

Follow Me on Pinterest
 

Primo Search

Primo Search

Off campus? Sign in

EXS @ Waterfield Library

The Exercise Science collection at Waterfield Library supports the scholarly and research efforts in the field of Exercise Science.  The collection provides resources in research and study areas including, but not limited to, HealthPromotion, Athletic Training, Wellness and those interested in pursuing graduate programs in physical therapy, exercise science, or sports medicine.  

 

New Books!

Cover Art
Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement-3rd Edition - Bruce Abernethy; Vaughan Kippers; Stephanie Hanrahan; Marcus Pandy; Ali McManus; Laurel Mackinnon
ISBN: 9781450431651
Publication Date: 2013-03-25
"Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement, Third Edition," introduces readers to key concepts concerning the anatomical, mechanical, physiological, neural, and psychological bases of human movement. The text provides undergraduate students with a broad foundation for more detailed study of the subdisciplines of human movement and for cross-disciplinary studies. Readers will learn the multi-dimensional changes in movement and movement potential that occur throughout the life span as well as those changes that occur as adaptations to training, practice, and other lifestyle factors. This third edition includes the latest research and improved presentation to address areas of growth and change in the fields of human movement. The following are important updates to this edition: - A new chapter on historical origins of human movement science provides students with an appreciation of the development of the field as well as its future directions. - Content regarding exercise physiology has been reorganized to provide more discrete coverage of key concepts in nutrition. - A new concluding section focuses on applications in the areas of prevention and management of chronic disease, prevention and management of injury, and performance enhancement in sport and the workplace, as well as the benefits of sport and exercise science to work, sport, and everyday living. - Ancillary materials support instructors in teaching across disciplines as they assist students in understanding the breadth of content in this comprehensive text. Using a modular approach to teaching sport and exercise science, "Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement, Third Edition," offers students a structured understanding of how the subdisciplines work independently and in tandem. Following a general introduction to the field of human movement studies, readers are introduced to basic concepts, life-span changes, and adaptations arising in response to training in each of the five major biophysical subdisciplines of human movement. Each subdiscipline is given a brief introduction, including the definition and historical development of the subdiscipline, the typical issues and problems it addresses, the levels of analysis it uses, and relevant professional training and organizations. Multi-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary approaches to human movement are also discussed along with contemporary applications. By studying the integration of knowledge from a number of the biophysical subdisciplines, students will be better prepared for advanced study and careers reliant on the integration of knowledge from various disciplines and perspectives. The third edition offers tools for retaining the material, including learning objectives and summaries in each chapter, a glossary, and lists of web-based resources. Throughout the text, special "In Focus" features highlight key organizations, individuals, and studies from around the world that have contributed to the current understanding of human movement. These features help readers appreciate the evolution of the field so that they may better understand its direction. Students interested in further study will find specialized texts for each of the subdisciplines listed in the Further Reading and References section of each chapter along with updated lists of websites. The third edition of "Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement" offers a comprehensive introduction for students, scientists, and practitioners involved in the many professions grounded in or related to human movement, kinesiology, and sport and exercise science. By considering the effect of adaptations in each of the biophysical subdisciplines of human movement, "Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement" also illustrates the important role physical activity plays in the maintenance of health throughout the life span.

Cover Art
Essentials of Athletic Injury Management - William Prentice; Daniel Arnheim
ISBN: 9780078022616
Publication Date: 2012-05-02
Essentials of Athletic Injury Management provides the information you need to manage the care of athletic injuries—from prevention, identification and assessment of injuries to interaction with players, parents and physicians. Designed for those beginning careers in coaching, physical education and the fitness profession, this text prepares students to manage injury and emergency situations when an athletic trainer or physician is not available. Action plans, checklists and applications of universal precautions in athletic environments are included to provide the practical tools needed to get started in the field.

Cover Art
Documentation for Athletic Training - Jeff G. Konin; John M. Kaltenborn; Margaret Frederick Thompson
ISBN: 9781556429828
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Documentation for Athletic Training, Second Edition details the many types of written documentation including evaluations, discharge summaries, injury reports, and medical releases. While still covering basic principles, various styles of writing, legal considerations, and documentation for reimbursement, this text continues to stay in stride with the trends of technology, informing the reader of the benefits and challenges of electronic documentation and e-health records. What is New in the Second Edition: * New examples of standard documentation forms * Broadened critical thinking questions in each chapter * Updated chapter on electronic documentation Features: * Practice worksheets for documentation of clinical proficiencies * Chapter objectives and items for discussion to evaluate learning * "Pearls of Wisdom" emphasizing key points and professional advice * Comprehensive medical abbreviation list * Study questions in each chapter Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. With multiple examples of documentation and tips for success, Documentation for Athletic Training, Second Edition by Dr. Jeff Konin, Mr. John Kaltenborn, and Dr. Margaret Frederick Thompson aims to present a wide array of methods and forms, providing students, educators, and certified athletic trainers alike with a multifaceted tool box for their documentation needs.

Cover Art
The Rehabilitation Specialist's Handbook - Serge H. Roy; Steven L. Wolf; David A. Scalzitti
ISBN: 0803639066
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
The 4th Edition of the gold standard of rehabilitation resources is now in full color and thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the art and science of practice today! A compendium of frequently used, but rarely memorized information organized for easy reference, it covers an extraordinary breadth of topics--from the full range of basic scientific information (neuroanatomy and clinical neurology, osteology and clinical orthopedics, general anatomy, cardiac and pulmonary anatomy) to the treatments and methods used in modern rehabilitation practice. With its outcome and evidence-based focus and several expert contributors, this text is a must for PT's at any stage in their career.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Candace K. Vance, MIS
Contact Info
213A Waterfield Library
Murray State University
Murray, KY 42071
cvance4@murraystate.edu
Send Email
 

Recommended Browsers/ Versions

To best view this LibGuide, the following browsers/ versions are recommended:

  • Explorer 7 and higher
  • Firefox 3.6 and higher
  • Safari 5

In addition, you must have the latest version of Adobe installed on your computer in order to open the pdfs.

(Faculty, if you do not have these versions installed on your computers, please go through the proper request procedures to contact the Technology Coordinator in your College) 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip