Circulating BooksReference Books
OSH 657
APANeed Writing Help?
This is the "Home" page of the "Occupational Safety & Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Murray State University Library Guides Racer Writing Center Racer Communication Center Library Home My Gate RacerNet Canvas Library Guides Home

Occupational Safety & Health  

Essential resources for research and study in Occupational Safety & Health
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.murraystate.edu/OSH Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us!

Ask us
Chat with us Text us
Email us Call us
 

Primo Search

Primo Search

Off campus? Sign in
 

Pinterest

Follow and explore Murray State Libraries on Pinterest to find more resources on the web.

Follow Me on Pinterest

OSH @ Waterfield Library

OSH iconThe collection at Waterfield Library supports the scholarly and research efforts in the Department of Occupational Safety & Health.  The collection provides resources in research and study areas including, but not limited to, a Bachelors of Science in occupational safety and health (safety and environmental options), and a Master of Science in occupational safety and health with options in safety management, industrial hygiene, and environmental.

 

New Books!

Cover Art
Changing the Workplace Safety Culture - Ron C. McKinnon
Call Number: T55 .M3282 2014
ISBN: 9781466567689
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Despite the fact that workplaces have implemented and followed new safety innovations and approaches, the majority of them have seen little, if any, significant progress in the reduction of accidental deaths and injuries. Changing the Workplace Safety Culture demonstrates that changing the way an organization views and practices safety will impact the behavior of all employees including executive and line managers. It delineates how safety culture change can be implemented and defines the roles of everyone in the safety culture, including management, employees, and unions and their members. Rather than focus on behavior-based safety measures, this book provides step-by-step procedures on how to establish a long-lasting integrated safety management system in any organization. It explores how to change the safety personality of an organization. The author covers the management principles and functions that need to be applied to bring about safety culture change and includes many real-life examples. He goes on to explain the activities needed to implement safety change and the benefits of getting others involved in the safety management system. The only way to ensure that accidents and their consequences are tackled at the source is to identify and eliminate the workplace risks before, rather than after, the event. To be truly effective, safety activities must be integrated into the day-to-day business and become a way of life for management and employees of the organization. This book provides a blueprint for creating an active safety culture that prevents accidents before they occur and becomes the key component in ongoing safety success.

Cover Art
Hazardous Chemicals - T. S. S. Dikshith
Call Number: T55.3.H3 D55 2013
ISBN: 9781439878200
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
An easily accessible guide to scientific information on safety management of chemical substances for students and occupational health professionals, this book covers proper management, related care, and precautions, and related global regulations. It aids in preventing and minimizing the consequences of catastrophic releases of toxic, reactive, flammable, or explosive chemical substances, which may result in toxic or explosive hazards. It also details safety measures for transportation of chemical substances by different routes, such as by road, rail, air, and sea.

Cover Art
The Hazard Control Approach to Improving Safety, Health, and Related Functions - James T. Tweedy
Call Number: T55 .T86 2014
ISBN: 9781466551589
Publication Date: 2013-09-25
The International Board for the Certification of Safety Managers (IBFCSM) has designated this text as the Primary Study Reference for those preparing to sit for the Certified Hazard Control Manager (CHCM) and the Certified Hazard Control Manager-Security (CHCM-SEC) Examinations. Introduction to Hazard Control Management: A Vital Organizational Function explains how proven management and leadership principles can improve hazard control and safety management effectiveness in organizations of all types and sizes. This introductory text addresses hazard control and safety management as organizational functions, instead of just programs. It not only supplies a broad overview of essential concepts including identifying, analyzing, and controlling hazards but also promotes the importance of safe behaviors. Written by the Executive Director of IBFCSM, the book covers a broad array of hazards that can exist in most organizations. It focuses on the need to use good leadership, effective communication, and proven management techniques to prevent organizational losses. Addresses the inter-relationships of various organizational functions that support hazard control, accident prevention, and safety Includes an overview of emergency management, hazardous materials, and fire safety management Reviews occupational health, radiation safety, and emerging hazards such as nanotechnology and robotic safety Emphasizing the importance of effective communication skills in hazard control efforts, this book promotes an understanding of system safety methodologies and organizational culture to help you control hazards, prevent accidents, and reduce other losses in your organization. It expands on the foundational principles contained in the pamphlet: "The Management Approach to Hazard Control. "This book is an ideal reference for anyone wanting to learn more about managing hazards, encouraging safe behaviors, and leading hazard control efforts.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Candace K. Vance, MIS
Contact Info
213A Waterfield Library
Murray State University
Murray, KY 42071
cvance4@murraystate.edu
Send Email
 

Recommended Browsers/ Versions

To best view this LibGuide, the following browsers/ versions are recommended:

  • Explorer 7 and higher
  • Firefox 3.6 and higher
  • Safari 5

In addition, you must have the latest version of Adobe installed on your computer in order to open the pdfs.

(Faculty, if you do not have these versions installed on your computers, please go through the proper request procedures to contact the Technology Coordinator in your College) 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip