Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

Archives Usage Policies: Home

These are the usage policies of the University Archives at Murray State University

Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

(Occasional events in Pogue require us to close. Call ahead or check the calendar on the Genealogy Home page.)

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Use of Archival Materials Policy

General Rules Governing Use of Archival Collections

Rules Governing Use of Archives

The Archives of the Murray State University are available for research use by students, faculty, and visiting scholars. All users of archival material must complete a registration application form, provide valid photo-identification (institutional ID, driver's license), and sign the register daily. Special permission may be required for access to restricted collections. All material must be used in the Special Collections reading room, in accordance with the general Archives Regulations. Murray State University reserves the right to limit and restrict the usage and amount of material issued to a researcher.

Archival Usage Regulations

Archival Collections are available for research use and are subject to the following rules:

  • Certain materials do not circulate and must be viewed in the Reading Room, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Researchers must sign the register daily and present valid photo-identification.
  • Researchers are permitted to use one collection at a time. Exceptions may be made by the person on duty if appropriate.
  • All inquiries concerning photocopying must be referred to the archivist.
  • Archival material must be handled with great care. USE PENCIL ONLY. Do not make any marks on the materials.
  • Keep Archival materials on reading room table surfaces at all times.
  • No books, papers, or other objects may be laid on archival materials.
  • When using archival material, do not disturb the arrangement of papers or folders.
  • When you have finished using material, please return it to the desk and wait until the material has been checked in.
  • It is possible to place material on "Hold" if you plan to make repeated use of the material within the week. Please inform the desk attendant whether you will be using the material again during the following week.  

Reproducing and Photographing Archival Materials

  • Applications to reproduce archival materials must be submitted for approval by the archivist.
  • All requests for photography must be approved by the archivist.
  • Approved photography is allowed by appointment ONLY. Please call (270) 809-4295 to make an appointment.
  • Permission to reproduce or to photograph does not imply permission to publish.

Locating Archival Material

Researchers can locate manuscripts through a variety of finding aids including archives accession sheets, separate indexes, calendars, and inventories to individual collections. Selected collections have also been cataloged into RACERTrac, the Murray State University online catalog. Researchers should consult the archivist for assistance in locating manuscripts.

Photocopying Archival Material

Murray State University will permit a reasonable amount of photocopying from its archival holdings, but reserves the right to restrict copying from any of its collections and to deny requests for copies. Photocopies are for reference use only and may not be transferred to any other person or institution without specific permission of the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives. A librarian must approve all photocopy requests, which may be submitted on an application to reproduce Archival materials.

Permission to Archival Materials

Permission to consult or reproduce archival materials does not constitute authorization to publish them. Permission to publish manuscript materials in the Murray State University Special Collections and Archives must be obtained in writing from the archivist. The letter of application should specify the materials to be reproduced and the publication in which they will be used. Permission is granted insofar as the University is the owner of property rights and does not include literary rights, which must be obtained by the researcher or publisher from the author, or the author's heirs, estate, or literary executor.

Other Rules May Apply

Circulation Policy

Pogue Circulation Policies

General collection books in Pogue are available for circulation. All Waterfield circulation policies, including length of checkout period, apply to Pogue’s book collection. These policies can be found here.

Collections located in Pogue’s Reading and Genealogy Rooms are the only ones eligible to be checked out.

The staff at Pogue reserves the right to withhold any book from circulation based on condition or quality of the item.

Laptop computers are available for checkout by MSU students, faculty, and staff and are for in-library use only.

MSU students Borrowing Policies

MSU Faculty/Staff Borrowing Policies

Community Borrowing Policies. Community members must first get a Community User Card. This card can be obtained at the circulation desks at either Waterfield or Pogue libraries.

Items that may not be borrowed

  • Rare Books

  • War and Diplomacy Collection

  • Jesse Stuart Book Collection

  • Media items. Including oral histories, microfilm, VHS, DVDs, CDs

  • Reference Books located in the Lobby

  • Manuscript Collection

  • University Records

  • Periodicals