Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG039-13-14 R. O. T. C. Scrapbooks, etc.: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

R.O.T.C. Scrapbooks, etc.

Collection Title: Scrapbooks, etc.
 
Series Number: RG039-13-14
 
Department: Department of Military Science (R.O.T.C.)
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Hayley Allen in April and May of 2013.
 
Date Listed: May 3, 2013
 
Date Span: 1952-1997
 
Size of Collection: 5.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  2 legal size document cases; 2 record center boxes and 4 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Scrapbooks, photographs, newspaper clippings and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: The United States Army R.O.T.C. program at Murray State University was established in 1952. The college added basic military science courses in combat arms and technical services in the fall of 1952. All male students enrolled in the college were required to take two training courses prior to graduation. After the fall semester of 1971 all military science programs became entirely elective. In 1997, the R.O.T.C. program closed due downsizing in the United States military. A military science program staffed by the Kentucky National Guard was reintroduced to Murray State in the fall of 2004 and continues to this day.       
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of scrapbooks and historical documents related to the United States Army R.O.T.C. program at Murray State University from 1952 to 1997. The collection also contains correspondence, photographic prints, newspaper clippings, alumni information, contracts, mission statements, handbooks and ephemera produced and retained by the Department of Military Science at Murray State University.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
United States. Army. Reserve Officers’ Training Corps.
Murray State University. Department of Military Science.
Murray State University – History.
Military art and science – Study and teaching.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152