Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG036-12-28 Theatre Department Playbills: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Theatre Department Playbills

Collection Title: Playbills

 

Series Number: RG036-12-28

 

Department: Theatre Department

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in September of 2012.

 

Date Listed: September 20, 2012

 

Date Span: 1924-1999 (bulk, 1954-1959)

 

Size of Collection:  0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 letter size document case.

 

Type of Material: Playbills and newspaper clippings.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: The Theatre Department was first established as the Division of Dramatics in 1944. Prior to that date drama courses had been taught since 1925 in the Department of Public Speaking. The Sock and Buskin Club was founded the same year to promote student participation in theater. During the 1950s, the Dramatics Division sponsored Summer Theater at Kentucky Dam Village State Park. In 1968, the college began to offer a major in Drama. The Department of Theatre Arts was established in 1972 and four years later was renamed the Department of Theatre.    

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of playbills of plays produced and performed by students and faculty members of Murray State University from 1924 to 1999. The majority of the collection focuses upon theatrical programs staged by the college’s theater troop, the Sock and Buskin Club, during the 1950s.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Theatre Department.

Murray State University – History.

College theater – Kentucky – Murray.

Playbills – Kentucky – Murray.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152