Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG034-12-23 Public Relations Office Promotional Materials: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Public Relations Office Promotional Materials

Collection Title: Promotional Materials

 

Series Number: RG034-12-23

 

Department: Public Relations Office.

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in September of 2012.

 

Date Listed: September 12, 2012.

 

Date Span: 1924-present

 

Size of Collection: 4.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 3 legal size document cases and 2 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Brochures, flyers, posters, newspaper clippings and ephemera

 

Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading caused by aging and improper storage..

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The Public Relations Office at Murray State University was established as part of the Office of Extension on March 29, 1926 during a special meeting of the Board of Regents. Its primary duties were to publicize campus programs and events and promote the college regionally and nationally. E. H. Smith served as the first Director of Public Relations.    

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of promotional materials published or printed for the Public Relations Office of Murray State University, or it predecessor institutions, from 1924 to the present. Included with the collection are early class schedules, events calendars, picture books, campus guides and maps, posters, newspaper and magazine advertisements and other related ephemera.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Public Relations Office.

Murray State University – History.

Universities and colleges – Promotions – Kentucky.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152