Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG033-12-19 Faculty Information Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Faculty Information Records

 

Collection Title: Faculty Information Records

 

Series Number: RG033-12-19

 

Department: Human Resources Office

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in August of 2012.

 

Date Listed: August 29, 2012.

 

Date Span: 1923-2008

 

Size of Collection:  1.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  2 legal size document cases; 1 legal half size document case.

 

Type of Material: Records, memos, forms, newspaper clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The Human Resources Office originated as a duty assigned to the Executive and Administrative Offices of the school. It was placed under the Office of the President when a Normal School and as part of the Office of the Dean when a Teachers College and later State College. In 1969, the Personnel Services Office was created and the faculty files entrusted to the new division. The title of the office was renamed the Office of Human Resources in 1993. Prior to 1955 all faculty and visiting instructors were required to complete and submit a personnel data form to the college.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of faculty data forms (1923-1955), membership lists (1925-2008) and newspaper clippings on new faculty produced or retained by the Human Resources Office of Murray State University and its predecessor institutions. The data forms include biographical, academic and employment information, professional achievements, memberships to professional societies, religious affiliation and “farm experience”. Included in the collection are records on the Faculty Alliance movement to form a faculty union in 1998, drafts of the Faculty Organization Constitution which formed the Faculty Senate in 1970, the Faculty Research Center  from 1986 to 1996, faculty teaching loads and communications between the faculty and the Board of Regents from 1983 to 2008.    

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – Faculty.

Murray State University – History.

Administrative records – Kentucky – Murray.

Teachers’ unions – United States.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152