Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG031-12-14 WKMS-FM Radio Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

WKMS-FM Radio Records

 

Collection Title: Records

 

Series Number: RG031-12-14

 

Department: WKMS-FM Radio

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Tara Marcum in July of 2012

 

Date Listed: July 9, 2012

 

Date Span: 1967-2002

 

Size of Collection:  4.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  8 letter size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, records, reports, photographs and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: WKMS Radio was established on the Murray State University campus in 1970. Initial plans for a FM radio station began in 1967 and a year later became a reality when permission was granted by KETA television to use their broadcast tower in Farmington for a radio antenna. A TV and radio station studio was constructed in the Fine Arts Building in 1969. WKMS began broadcasting on May 11, 1970. In October of 1978, the radio station received a grant to construct a 100,000 watt transmission tower in the Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area, which expanded the station’s capacity to broadcast to the entire Jackson Purchase area of southwest Kentucky and northwest Tennessee.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of materials produced or received by WKMS radio from 1967 to 2002. The collection contains correspondence, grant applications, reports and permits related to the daily operations of the radio station and construction and maintenance of a radio tower in the Land Between the Lakes National Recreational Area. Included in the records are schedules, programs, photographs and ephemera.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

WKMS-FM (Radio station : Murray, Ky.)

Radio stations – Kentucky.

Radio programs -- Kentucky

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152