Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG028-11-47 Accounting Ledgers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Accounting Ledgers

Collection Title: Accounting Ledgers

 

Series Number: RG028-11-47

 

Department: Accounting and Financial Services Office

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in October of 2011.

 

Date Listed: October 11, 2011

 

Date Span: 1923-1970

 

Size of Collection: 15 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  19 oversized ledger boxes and 2 loose ledgers.

 

Type of Material: Accounting ledgers.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by size of ledger; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: Accounting and Financial Services Office was first established at Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) as the Business Office in 1930. Prior to that date the school accounting records were kept by the President and Dean’s Office. The Business Office later became part of Auxiliary Services and then reorganized and separated into Accounting and Financial Services.      

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of bound ledgers produced by the accounting offices of Murray State Normal School, Murray State Teachers College, Murray State College and Murray State University from 1923 to 1970. The collection contains records of cash receipts and expenditures (1923-1948), check registers (1923-1953), state appropriations (1940-1957), Athletics Department receipts (1935-1954), Norris Student Loan Fund (1925-1970) and various records on disbursements, allotments and encumbrances (1960-1965).

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Accounting and Financial Services.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Finance.

Murray State University – Administration.

Inventory of RG028-11-47

Inventory of Collection

RG028-11-47

Accounting and Financial Services Offices

Accounting Ledgers

Inventory by Dieter C. Ullrich

Box 1

Cash Receipts, 1923-1939

Cash Receipts, 1939-1948

 

Box 2

Cash Expenditures, 1927-1929

Cash Expenditures, 1929-1931

 

Box 3

Cash Expenditures, 1933-1935

Cash Expenditures, 1935-1936

 

Box 4

Cash Expenditures, 1936-1937

Cash Expenditures, 1937-1939

 

Box 5

Cash Expenditures, 1939-1941

 

Box 6

Cash Expenditures, 1941-1943

 

Box 7

Cash Expenditures, 1943-1944

Cash Expenditures, 1944-1946

 

Box 8

Cash Expenditures, 1946-1947

 

Box 9

Revenue and Receipts, 1960-1965

 

Box 10

State Appropriations, 1940-1941

State Appropriations, 1955-1957

 

Box 11

Check Register, 1926-1928

Check Register, 1929-1934

 

Box 12

Check Register, 1934-1939

Check Register, 1940-1948

 

Box 13

Check Register, 1949-1953

 

Box 14

Norris Student Loan Fund, 1925-1970

 

Box 15

Accounts by Code, 1942-1946

Receipts for dining hall and farm cannery, 1943-1947

Receipts for dining hall and farm cannery, 1947-1961

 

Box 16

Accounts Ledger, 1924-1930

 

Box 17

Football / Basketball Season Ticket Sales, 1935-1938

Athletic Department Receipts, 1936-1954

 

Box 18

Construction and Maintenance Accounts, 1923-1937

Check Register, 1923-1925

 

Box 19

Cash Expenditures, 1923-1927

 

Loose Ledgers

State Appropriations, 1942-1955

Disbursements, allotments and encumbrances, 1960-1965

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152