Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG027-11-45 L. J. Hortin - J. W. Carr Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

L. J. Hortin - J. W. Carr Papers

Collection Title: L. J. Hortin – J. W. Carr Papers

 

Series Number: RG027-11-45

 

Department: English Department

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed in 1993 (no name listed), reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich in late September and early October of 2011.

 

Date Listed: October 5, 2011

 

Date Span: 1922-1960 (bulk, 1923-1933)

 

Size of Collection:  1.75 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  2 legal size document cases; 1 legal half size document case and 1 letter size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, reports and manuscripts.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by subject heading of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: Loren Joseph Hortin served as a faculty member in the English Department of Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) from 1928 to 1947 and in the Journalism Department from 1967 to 1974. Hortin frequently corresponded with John Wesley Carr, the former President of Murray State Normal School, during the 1940s and 1950s. Following the death of President Carr in 1960, Hortin acquired his papers relating to the history of Murray State. In 1992, after the death of Hortin, Murray State University received the papers from his estate. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence from John Wesley Carr from 1922 to 1960, manuscripts on the history of Murray State and various reports on the activities of the Normal School and Teachers College from 1923 to 1934. The collection contains speeches by Carr, State Normal School Commission meeting minutes (1922-1923) and State Board of Education Meeting Minutes (1923). Included in the papers are records on campus location, faculty and staff, and student activities during the 1920s and 1930s.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Hortin, Loren Joseph, 1904-1992

Carr, John Wesley, 1860-1960

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Presidents.

University and colleges – Administration.

Inventory of RG027-11-45

Inventory of Collection

RG027-11-45

L. J. Hortin / J. W. Carr Papers

 

Box 1

1.      American Association of Teachers Colleges, 1931

2.      Biography – John Wesley Carr

3.      Board of Regents Meeting Minutes (Extracts), 1924

4.      Board of Regents Rules and Regulations, 1924

5.      Capital Improvement Plan, 1951

6.      Carr’s First Public Address as President, 1923

7.      Centre College, 1932

8.      Clubs and Organizations, 1920s-1930s

9.      College Chapel – Addresses, 1926-1932

10.  College History – First Decade, 1933

11.  Contributors to Murray State Normal School, 1922-1923

12.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, 1922

13.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, January-July, 1923

14.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, August, 1923

15.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, September, 1923

16.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, October, 1923

17.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, November, 1923

18.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, December, 1923

19.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, 1924

20.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, 1925

21.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, 1926

22.  Correspondence – J. W. Carr, January-May, 1927

Box 2

1.      Correspondence – J. W. Carr, June-December, 1927

2.      Correspondence – J. W. Carr, January-May, 1930

3.      Correspondence – J. W. Carr, June-December, 1930

4.      Correspondence – J. W. Carr, 1933

5.      Correspondence – L. J. Hortin, 1931-1960

6.      Correspondence – M. O. Wrather, 1944-1959

7.      Degree Requirements, 1930

8.      Election of J. W. Carr as First President, 1923

9.      Faculty Applications, 1923

10.  Faculty Meeting Minutes, 1931

11.  Inventory of Property, 1925

12.  Janitorial Services, 1923-1934

13.  Location of Normal School at Murray, 1940-1941

14.  Manuscript – Murray State History, 1933

15.  Manuscript – Murray State History, 1943

16.  Minimum Required Courses – Minors, Majors and Certificates, 1929

17.  Notes on Chapter 4 – History of Murray State, n.d.

18.  Opening of Murray State, 1923

19.  “Our Dream Child” by J. W. Carr, 1940

20.  Report of Robert T. Caldwell on the Location of Campus at Murray, 1923

Box 3

1.      Report of John D. Carroll on the Location of Campus at Murray, 1923

2.      Report of Charles I. Dawson on the Location of Campus at Murray, 1923

3.      Report of Edward C. O’Rear on the Location of Campus at Murray, 1923

4.      Report of Seldon Y. Trimble on the Location of Campus at Murray, 1923

5.      Resignation of Rainey T. Wells, 1932

6.      Rules Governing Housing and Attendance, 1930

7.      Rural School Work, 1926-1941

8.      Salaries, 1931

9.      Southern Association of Colleges, 1925-1927

10.  Standardized Testing, 1937-1938

11.  State Board of Education Meeting Minutes, 1923

12.  State Normal School Commission Meeting Minutes, 1922-1923

13.  Teacher Education and Evaluation, 1938

14.  Transfer form, 1930

Box 4

1.      Absence Regulations, 1924

2.      Absenteeism, 1929

3.      Accounting, 1923

4.      Alumni Communications, 1925-1938

5.      Baccalaureate Address, 1932

6.      Creation of Board of Regents, 1926

7.      Budget Matters, 1932-1933

8.      Catalog draft, 1930

9.      Catalog draft, 1931

10.  Chapel Attendance, 1927

11.  Chapel Remarks, 1933

12.  Charter for Name Change to Teachers College, 1930

13.  Course Credit Letter, 1924

14.  Court of Appeals Decision – Craig vs. O’Rear, 1923

15.  Curriculum Committee Minutes, 1928

16.  Disciplinary Case, 1926

17.  Duties of the Night Watchman, 1926

18.  Early Advertisements, 1925-1930

19.  Examinations for Advance Standings, 1926

20.  Faculty, 1929-1930

21.  Faculty, 1932-1933

22.  Faculty Loads, 1930

23.  Faculty Pay Issues, 1932

24.  Faculty and Staff Salaries, 1926-1927

25.  First District Education Association – First Meeting, 1926

26.  Growth of College, 1923-1933

27.  Honor Students, 1930

28.  Joseph & Joseph Architects, 1923

29.  Junior College Status, 1924

30.  Kentucky Blue Book Entry, 1925-1926

31.  Keown Inspection Report, 1929

32.  Majors and Minors, 1930-1937

33.  Non-resident Students, 1934

34.  Notes of J. W. Carr on early days of Murray State, 1941

35.  Notes of Alice Keys on early days of Murray State, n.d.

36.  Parent-Teacher Associations, 1938

37.  Physical Plant Matters, 1925

38.  Policy on Greek Organizations, 1932

39.  President’s Report to the Board of Regents, 1924

40.  Regional Basketball Tournament, 1927

41.  Requirement for Masters Degree, 1947-1949

42.  Rules on Cheating, 1930

43.  Service to Kentucky – Manuscript, 1932

44.  Speech – First District Educational Association, 1923

45.  Speech – Tenth Anniversary, 1933

46.  Student Employment, 1932

47.  Student Housing, 1933

48.  Student Interest Locater, 1939

49.  Student Study Habits, 1936-1938

50.  Student Teachers in Rural Schools, 1924

51.  Student Work Applications, 1931

52.  Summary of Failures, 1929-1930

53.  Summer School, 1926

54.  Teacher Training Schools, 1930-1931

55.  Teaching Curriculum, 1941

56.  Training School Critic Teacher form, n.d.

57.  Training School Opening, 1928-1932

58.  Unsatisfactory work of Students, 1938

59.  Wells Hall Construction, 1924

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152