Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG026-13-15 Publications & Printing Office Photograph Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Publications & Printing Office Photograph Collection

Collection Title: Photograph Collection
 
Series Number: RG026-13-15
 
Department: Publications & Printing Office
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Joshua Rice from January to May of 2013.
 
Date Listed: May 10, 2013
 
Date Span: ca. 1960s-1990s
 
Size of Collection: 3.5 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  7 letter size document cases.
 
Type of Material: Photographs
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject represented on photograph; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: The Publications & Printing Office was first established as the Printing Service Office in 1945. In 1963, the office was retitled the Duplicating Service Office and by the late 1960s it was again called the Printing Service Office. By the turn of the century the department received its current title. The photographs within this collection were located in file cabinets housed in the Publications & Printing Office and later transferred to the University Archives in 2012.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographic prints of events, buildings, campus scenes, students, staff and faculty of Murray State University from the 1960s to the 1990s. The bulk of the collection was unidentified when found but were organized by the subject presented on the photograph. Subjects include campus buildings, departmental activities, athletic teams, prominent athletes, Greek life, group photos of students and miscellaneous pictures taken on campus.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Publications & Printing Office. Murray State University.
Murray State University – History.
Murray State University – Pictorial works.

Inventory for RG026-13-15

Inventory of Collection
RG026-13-15
Department of Journalism and Communications
Photograph Collection
Inventory by Joshua Rice
Box 1
      1.            African American Student Council
      2.            Agriculture Department Photos
      3.            Agricultural Mechanization, Technology, Blacksmithing, and Welding
      4.            Agricultural Studies: Horsemanship
      5.            Alumni Association
      6.            Anthropology/Archaeology
      7.            Art: 2D, Drawings, Paintings, Art Show
      8.            Art: 3D, Jewelry, Pottery, Sculptures, and Photography
      9.            Art: Inflatables
  10.            Art: Live Models
  11.            Award Ceremonies
  12.            Band/Music Department Photos
  13.            Band/Music Department Portraits
  14.            Banquets and Picnics
  15.            Baseball
  16.            Basketball Camp
  17.            Big Brothers & Big Sisters, Murray
  18.            Biology: Class and Education
  19.            Biology: Horticulture, Botany, and Agriculture
  20.            Biology: Lab and Research
  21.            Biology: Fishing/Aquatic
 
Box 2
      1.            Boy Scout Museum
      2.            Business and Public Administration
      3.            Campus Buildings
      4.            Campus Buildings: Carr Health
      5.            Campus Buildings: Collin’s Center
      6.            Campus Buildings: Curris Center
      7.            Campus Buildings: Lovett Auditorium
      8.            Campus Buildings: RSEC and Related People
      9.            Campus Libraries: Waterfield, Pogue, and Legal
  10.            Campus Life: Classes
  11.            Campus Life: Social and Study
  12.            Cheerleaders
  13.            Chemistry
  14.            Child Development
  15.            Computer Science
 
Box 3
      1.            Continuing Education
      2.            Cross Country and Track
      3.            Distinguished Individuals of the Business Administration Department
      4.            Dorm Life
      5.            Economics
      6.            Electrical Engineering Technology
      7.            Elementary and Secondary Education
      8.            English
      9.            Expo Center
  10.            FFA Field Day
  11.            Football
  12.            Food Services
  13.            Geology
  14.            Golf
  15.            Graduation and Graduation Material
  16.            Graphic Arts Technology
  17.            Greek Life (I)
  18.            Greek Life (II)
  19.            Group Photographs
  20.            Gymnastics
  21.            Hall of Fame
  22.            Health
  23.            Health Science
 
Box 4
      1.            History and Foreign Language
      2.            Holiday Images
      3.            Home Economics and Education
      4.            Identifiable People
      5.            Identifiable Portraits: Females
      6.            Identifiable Portraits: Males
      7.            Industrial Arts Education
      8.            Industrial Education and Technology Newsletter
      9.            Industrial Engineering Technology Co-op
  10.            Industrial Engineering Technology: Manufacturing Engineering
  11.            Industry and Tech
  12.            Jesse Stuart Workshop
  13.            Journalism
  14.            Lake Activities and Land Between the Lakes
  15.            Lake Activities and Land Between the Lakes
  16.            Learning and Education Centers
  17.            Local Radio Station
  18.            Management
  19.            Marching Band and Musicians
  20.            Mathematics
  21.            Medical Laboratory Technology
  22.            Meetings
 
Box 5
      1.            Men’s Baseball Team
      2.            Men’s Basketball Team
      3.            Men’s Basketball 1977
      4.            Military Science
      5.            Miscellaneous
      6.            MSU Television Studio
      7.            Multicultural Studies
      8.            Murray Beauty Pageant
      9.            Murray Fire Department and Campus Fire
  10.            Murray Speaker Bureau
  11.            Music Department: Pianos
  12.            Music Departments: Bands
  13.            Music Department: Trumpet Workshop
  14.            NASA/Astronaut Exhibit and Displays
  15.            NCAA Men’s Basketball
  16.            News Bureau Photos
  17.            Nursing
  18.            Nursing: Physical Therapy and Education
  19.            Nursing Program and Student Health Services
  20.            Occupational Safety and Health
  21.            Old Printing Press Pictures
  22.            Philosophy
  23.            Physical Plant and Maintenance Team
  24.            Pre-Medicine
  25.            Presidents
  26.            Pre-Veterinary Medicine
 
Box 6
      1.            Promotional Photos Taken on Campus
      2.            Psychology, Sociology, and Counseling
      3.            Racer 1, Dunker
      4.            Radio
      5.            Recreational Team Photos
      6.            Registration
      7.            Renowned Individuals
      8.            Rifle Team
      9.            Science Department
  10.            Special Education
  11.            Speech and Communication Team
  12.            Sports Personnel: Various Sports and Teams
  13.            Student Couples
  14.            Students with their Parents
  15.            Study Abroad
  16.            Study Abroad: Kentucky Institute for International Studies
  17.            Summer Orientations
  18.            Summer Youth Programs
  19.            Television: Class
 
Box 7
      1.            Tennis: Men
      2.            Tennis: Women’s
      3.            Theatre and Dance
      4.            Typewriters
      5.            Unidentified Individuals
      6.            Unidentified Work Sites
      7.            University Book Stores
      8.            Vocational Work
      9.            Women’s Basketball Team
  10.            Women’s Volleyball Team
  11.            Workshops 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152