Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG025-11-42 Student Alumni Association Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Student Alumni Association Records

Collection Title: Records

 

Series Number: RG025-11-42

 

Department: Student Alumni Association

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Rachel Kim in September of 2011.

 

Date Listed: September 28, 2011

 

Date Span: 1951-2008

 

Size of Collection:  5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  4 letter size document cases and 2 record center boxes.

 

Type of Material: Photograph albums, files and published materials.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by size of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The Murray State Alumni Association was founded on June 1, 1926 after commencement of the first graduating class of the Murray State Normal School. The Student Alumni Association of Murray State University was organized in the fall of 1981 as part of a Student Ambassador program which assisted in student recruiting and alumni programming. In the spring of 1984, the Student Alumni Association was officially established and by the end of the year was the largest organization on campus. The Association provides opportunities for graduates, former students, faculty, staff and members of the governing board of the institution to coordinate efforts on behalf of the University. They are also involved in fund raising, campus programming and community involvement. The offices of the Association maintain personal records of all graduates and members of the organization.

 

Scope and Content: The collection consists of published newsletters, photograph albums and office files from Student Alumni Association of Murray State University from 1951 to 2008. The collection contains issues of the Murray State Alumnus newsletter and magazine from 1951 to 2008, photograph albums from 1984 to 1995 and a survey of the graduates of Murray Training School, Murray College High School and the University School.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Student Alumni Association.

Murray Training School (Murray, Ky.)

Murray College High School (Murray, Ky.)

University School (Murray, Ky.)

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Alumni and alumnae.

 

Research Notes: Some restrictions may apply.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152