Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG023-11-35 Wrather West Kentucky Museum Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Wrather West Kentucky Museum Records

Collection Title: Records

 

Series Number: RG023-11-35

 

Department: Wrather West Kentucky Museum

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed and cataloged by Dieter C. Ullrich in late June of 2011.

 

Date Listed: June 30, 2011

 

Date Span: 1935-1991

 

Size of Collection:  1.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  3 legal size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, office records, photographs and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The Wrather West Kentucky Museum was established on September 22, 1982 to serve as a place to exhibit and promote the social, cultural and economic development of southwestern Kentucky and the Jackson Purchase. The museum also exhibits artifacts, photographs and ephemera related to Murray State University.

 

Scope and Content: The collection consists of files on the history of Murray State University collected and retained by the curator of the Wrather West Kentucky Museum located on the campus of Murray State University. The files contain biographical information on former presidents of the university, founding members of the college and prominent faculty, staff and students. Included with the collection are the correspondence and speeches of Marvin O. Wrather (1947-1970), Founder’s Day celebrations (1980-1988), presidential inaugurations (1935-1991) and miscellaneous brochures and programs printed for the museum.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Wrather West Kentucky Museum.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Presidents.

Murray State University – Founder’s Day.

Wrather, Marvin O., 1900-1970.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152