Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG021-11-31 Floyd B. Burdette Newspaper Clippings: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Floyd B. Burdette Newspaper Clippings

Collection Title: Floyd B. Burdette Newspaper Clippings

 

Series Number: RG021-11-31

 

Department: Student Scrapbooks

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 25, 2011.

 

Date Listed: May 25, 2011

 

Date Span: 1935-1944

 

Size of Collection:  2.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Newspaper clippings, correspondence and photographs.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by author.

 

Historical Information: Floyd “Red” B. Burdette was born in Martin, Tennessee in 1916. He attended local public schools and graduated Martin High School in 1934. He attended the University of Tennessee Junior College (presently the University of Tennessee at Martin) during the fall of 1934 and spring of 1935, where he was named to the All Mississippi Valley Conference Basketball Team. In the fall of 1935, he transferred to Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University). Burdette led the college basketball team in scoring from 1935 to 1938 and was named to the All Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association Basketball Team for three straight seasons. He was a member of the 1936 SIAA championship team and set a record for hitting free throws during the tournament. He was also listed in Who’s Who in American Colleges, was the vice president of the Physical Education Club and “M” Club and served as sports editor of the student newspaper. Burdette graduated from Murray State in 1938 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Health and Physical Education. He later received a Master of Science degree in Health and Physical Education from Oklahoma A&M (presently Oklahoma State University) in 1940. While attending Oklahoma A&M, he played basketball for the Oklahoma City Park Clothiers amateur team where he led the team in scoring in 1939 and 1940. During the Second World War, he was stationed at Randolph Field in Texas and played on the Service League basketball team (Randolph Field Ramblers).

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of newspaper clippings from regional publications retained by Floyd “Red” B. Burdette, an alumnus of Murray State University, from 1935 to 1944. The clippings contain pre and post game articles, statistics and historical information on the basketball program at Murray State from 1935 to 1938. The collection also contains clippings when Burdette’s played for the Oklahoma City Park Clothiers (1939-1940) and Randolph Field Ramblers (1942-1944). Included with the collection are photographs, signed college yearbooks (1936-1938), correspondence and biographical information.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Burdette, Floyd B.

Murray State University – Basketball – History.

Martin (Tenn.)

Randolph Field (Tex.)

Basketball -- Oklahoma – Oklahoma City – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152