Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG021-11-30 J. Hugh May Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

J. Hugh May Scrapbook

Collection Title: J. Hugh May Scrapbook

 

Series Number: RG021-11-30

 

Department: Student Scrapbooks

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 9, 2011

 

Date Listed: May 9, 2011

 

Date Span: 1927-1942

 

Size of Collection:  0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 oversize box.

 

Type of Material: Scrapbook

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: J. Hugh May was a student at Murray State Normal School from 1926 to 1929. During his four years at Murray State, he was a member of the varsity football, basketball and baseball teams. He was a resident of Morley, Missouri. Prior to attending Murray State, he attended Will Mayfield College in Marble Hill, Missouri. When college was out of session in the summer, May pitched for the independent league Paducah Hooks and Cairo Packers. After he graduated he taught and coached in public schools in southeast Missouri and managed local baseball clubs. He later became the Superintendant of East Prairie High School. May is a member of the Murray State Athletics Hall of Fame.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of scanned copies of a scrapbook created by the mother of J. Hugh May, a student who attended Murray State Teachers College, from 1926-1930. The bulk of the scrapbook is newspaper clippings and photographs of high school football and basketball teams that May coached in the 1930s and 1940s. The scrapbook includes newspaper clippings of his athletic career at Murray State and his years pitching in semi-professional baseball. Some of the scans do not display the entire image of the page.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

May, J. Hugh, 1905-1975

May, Lizzie, 1863-1957

Murray State University – History.

East Prairie High School (East Prairie, Mo.) – History.

East Prairie (Mo.)

Mississippi County (Mo.)

Scott County (Mo.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152