Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG021-11-25 Richard W. Gott Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Richard W. Gott Scrapbook

Collection Title: Richard W. Gott Scrapbook

 

Series Number: RG021-11-25

 

Department: Student Scrapbooks

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 22, 2011.

 

Date Listed: April 22, 2011

 

Date Span: 1951-1952

 

Size of Collection:  1.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 oversize box.

 

Type of Material: Scrapbook.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by author.

 

Historical Information: Richard Wayne Gott played as a forward and center on the Murray State College basketball team from 1951 to 1953. He was a native of Kansas City, Missouri. He transferred to Murray State his sophomore year from Moberly Junior College. During the 1951-1952 season, the basketball team was ranked 16th in the nation by the Associated Press. Gott was selected to the Ohio Valley Conference Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team in 1953. Later that same year, he graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Commerce and History. After graduation he played with the Peoria Caterpillars, an amateur team in the National Industrial Basketball League which won the 1954 Amateur Athletic Union Basketball Championship. He also was as a member of the United States National Team which won the gold medal at the Men’s World Championship in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 1954. Gott is listed on the “U.S.A. Men’s World Championship All-Time Roster”.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a scrapbook kept by Richard W. Gott that focuses upon activities of the 1951 and 1952 varsity basketball team of Murray State College. The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings and ephemera related to the 1951-1952 season. Included with the scrapbook is a preseason “Basketball Information” guide listing biographical information on coaches and players.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Gott, Richard Wayne

Murray State University – Basketball – History.

Scrapbooks – Kentucky – Murray.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152