Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG021-11-24 Lacy Downey Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Lacy Downey Scrapbook

Collection Title: Lacy Downey Scrapbook

 

Series Number: RG021-11-24

 

Department: Student Scrapbooks

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 21, 2011.

 

Date Listed: April 21, 2011

 

Date Span: 1931-1942

 

Size of Collection:  2.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 oversize box.

 

Type of Material: Scrapbook.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with stains, tears, fading and damage caused by acids released by adhesives and wood pulp paper.

 

Arrangement: Arrangement by author.

 

Historical Information: Lacy Edward Downey was the captain of the 1939 Murray State College varsity football team. He was a resident of Paducah, Kentucky prior to being admitted to Murray State in 1936. He attended Washington Junior High School and graduated from Tilghman High School at Paducah in the spring of 1936. He received an athletic scholarship at Murray State in the fall of the same year to play football. He played guard for the varsity football team for three years and was on the varsity track team for two years. In 1939, he was the sports editor for the yearbook and was listed in Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities. Downey graduated from Murray State with a Bachelor of Science degree in Physical Education in May of 1940. In August of 1940, he signed a contract with the Long Island Indians of the American Professional Football Association. He later coached high school football teams in Cleveland and Paris, Tennessee. He died in 2006.

 

Scope and Content: The collection consists of a scrapbook kept by Lacy Downey from 1931 to 1942 documenting his years playing football at Washington Junior High School, Tilghman High School and Murray State College, and coaching at Bradley Central High School in Cleveland, Tennessee. The scrapbook contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, game programs and ephemera related to athletic events in which Murray State was a participant. Included with the scrapbook is a “Prospectus of the 1938 Murray State College Thoroughbreds” and Downey’s 1940 contract with the Long Island Indians.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Downey, Lacy Edward

Murray State College – History.

Murray State University – Football – History.

Scrapbooks – Kentucky – Murray.

Scrapbooks – Kentucky – Paducah.

Long Island Indians

Tilghman High School (Paducah, Ky.)

Bradley Central High School (Cleveland, Tenn.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152