Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG020-13-18 Athletics Department - General Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Athletics Department - General Files

Collection Title: General Files
 
Series Number: RG020-13-18
 
Department: Athletics Department
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Michael Adams in June and July of 2013
 
Date Listed: July 29, 2013
 
Date Span: 1946–1987  
 
Size of Collection:  3.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  5 legal size document cases and 1 half size document case.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, memorandums, brochures, publicity guides, newspaper clippings, press releases and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: The Athletics Department at Murray State University was established in the fall of 1923 to manage the football team and the men and women’s basketball team. Baseball followed in the spring of 1924. Intercollegiate play began in the fall of 1925. Currently there are seven sport programs for men and nine programs for women.    
 
Scope and Content: Collection consist of correspondence, memorandums and other communications relating to the daily management of Murray State University’s Athletic Department from 1946 to 1987, including: communications detailing Murray State’s relationship with the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Ohio Valley Conference (OVC), communications with other regional Universities and communications with the public news services related to Murray State athletic programs.  The collection contains correspondence, memorandums, brochures, publicity guides, newspaper clippings, press releases and ephemera for Basketball (1974-1983), Golf (1975-1987), the Carr Health Building (1977), Financial Aid (1977-1983), Football (1946-1983), Homecoming (1977-1982), NCAA (1975-1981), OVC (1949-1983), Promotions (1978-1983), Racer Club (1978-1983), Radio Network (1978-1983), Stewart Stadium (1977-1982), Tennis (1977-1982), Tickets (1974-1983) and Track and Field (1975-1982).
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Murray State University – Athletics Department.
Murray State University – Basketball.
Murray State University – Golf.
Murray State University – Football.
Murray State University – Racer Club.
Murray State University – Radio Network.
Murray State University – Tennis.
Murray State University – Track and field.
National Collegiate Athletic Association.
Ohio Valley Conference.
 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152