Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG020-12-17 2011-2012 Men's Basketball Season: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

2011-2012 Men's Basketball Season

 

Collection Title: 2011-2012 Men’s Basketball Season

 

Series Number: RG020-12-17

 

Department: Athletics Department

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in June of 2012.

 

Date Listed: July 9, 2012

 

Date Span: 2011-2012

 

Size of Collection: 5.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 legal size document case; 1 legal half size document case and 2 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Publications, records, posters, ephemera and memorabilia.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject heading of file; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The 2011-2012 Murray State University Men’s Basketball Team recorded a 31-2 season. The number of victories tied a school record set in the 2009-2010 season. The team started the season 23-0, a school and OVC record, and was the last undefeated team in NCAA Division I. They were ranked 9th in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll in early February, the highest ranking in school history. The team won the regular season Ohio Valley Conference championship and won the OVC Tournament. The team advanced to the NCAA Tournament where they defeated Colorado State University in the first round but lost in the second round to Marquette University.   

 

Scope and Content: The collection consists of published and unpublished materials released by the Athletic Department of Murray State University documenting the Men’s Basketball Team from May of 2011 to April of 2012. The collection contains items such as departmental press releases, regional and national press reports and printouts from websites referring to the team’s progress throughout the season. Included in the collection are box scores, game logs, posters, t-shirts, ephemera and memorabilia.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Athletic Department.

Murray State University – Basketball.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152