Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG020-11-18 Marketing and Promotions Materials: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Marketing and Promotions Materials

Collection Title: Marketing and Promotions Materials

 

Series Number: RG020-11-18

 

Department: Athletics Department  

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Rachel Kim in March and April and May of 2011.

 

Date Listed: May 16, 2011

 

Date Span: 1926-2010

 

Size of Collection:  9.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  12 letter size document cases and 13 letter half size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Press books, programs, newspaper clippings, schedules and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by name of team sport; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The Athletics Department at Murray State University was established in the fall of 1923 to manage the football team and women’s basketball team. Baseball followed in the spring of 1924. Intercollegiate play began in the fall of 1925. Currently there are seven sport programs for men and nine programs for women.     

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of marketing and promotional materials printed by the Athletics Department of Murray State University, and its predecessors, for sports teams from 1926 to 2010. The collection contains team histories, press books, programs, schedules, press releases, newspaper clippings and ephemera. Included in the materials are press books, programs and schedules for baseball (1973-2001), Basketball (1926-2010), Cross Country (1977-1990), Football (1933-2008), Golf (1970-2001), Rifle team (1970-2001), Tennis (1972-2001), Track and Field (1957-2001) and Volleyball (1983-2010).

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – Baseball.

Murray State University – Basketball – History.

Murray State University – Football – History.

Murray State University – Cross-country running.

Murray State University – Golf.

Murray State University – Rifle team.

Murray State University – Tennis.

Murray State University – Track and field.

Murray State University – Volleyball.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152